NYCourts.govNew York State Unified Court System
CourtHelp

Calendaring an Uncontested Divorce Case

Depending on how the Defendant responds, your case may be ready to go on the court calendar. This is called calendaring and it means that the papers are ready for the Judge to review.

  • If the Defendant signs and returns the Affidavit of Defendant, then you can file the rest of the papers and have your case calendared immediately.
  • If the Defendant "defaults" and does not respond in any way, then you have to wait 40 days from the day the Defendant was served to file the rest of your papers.
  • If the Defendant files a Notice of Appearance then your case is now a contested divorce. The following information is not for you. You may need a lawyer to help you with your case. There are strict deadlines

 

Prepare the Papers

There are forms available for your use:

 

What to File

After the papers have been signed and notarized, it is a good idea to make copies of your papers for your own records.

File the following with the County Clerk's Office:

  • Note of Issue
  • Request for Judicial Intervention (RJI)
  • photocopy of the Summons With Notice or Summons and Complaint
  • Affidavit of Regularity
  • Affidavit of Plaintiff
  • Affidavit of Defendant, if any
  • Sworn Statement of Removal of Barriers to Remarriage, if you were married in a religious ceremony
  • Affidavit of Service, completed by the person who served the Defendant signed and notarized
  • Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law
  • Judgment of Divorce
  • Part 130 Certification
  • Certificate of Dissolution of Marriage

** Additional or different forms may be required. Ask the clerk for more information.

In some counties, a self-addressed stamped envelope is also required.

 

Where to File

Depending on the county, you will file your papers with the County Clerk's Office or the Supreme Court Clerk's Office.You may be able to file the papers over the internet using NYSCEF, the New York State Courts Electronic Filing system. Check to see if you can do this on the e-filing County List.

 

The Filing Fee

There is a total filing fee of $125 for the Note of Issue and the RJI. The clerk will give you a receipt.

If you were given a fee waiver for the court and filing fees, there is no charge. The fee waiver does not cover the cost of a lawyer, photocopies, notary fees, transportation, mailing, process server fees, etc. There may also be a fee to file the "Certificate of Dissolution."

 

Next Step

If there are no problems with your papers and the your divorce is granted the Judge will sign the Judgment. You will be contacted when the Judgment is ready for you.

Learn more about The Judgment in an Uncontested Divorce.

** This is a general information and may not apply to the county where you're filing your uncontested divorce case. Contact the Supreme Court in your county for more information.

Twitter YouTube DIY Forms 
 
SEARCH COURTHELP
   


 
COURT LOCATOR



and/or

 


 
>>>