
The Attorney Registration Unit 

 

The Attorney Registration Unit administers the biennial registration program and records for all 

attorneys admitted to practice law in New York State.  

Section 468-a of the Judiciary Law and 22 NYCRR Part 118 of the Rules of the Chief 

Administrator of the Courts require the biennial registration of all attorneys admitted in the State 

of New York, whether they are resident or non-resident, active or retired, or practicing law in New 

York or anywhere else. 

All attorneys are required to renew their attorney registration every two years, within 30 days of 

their date of birth even if they are not required to pay the registration fee. The fee for this 

registration is $375.00 (of which $60.00 is deposited in the Lawyers’ Fund for Client Protection, 

$50.00 in the Indigent Legal Services Fund, $25.00 in the Legal Services Assistance Fund, and the 

remainder in the Attorney Licensing Fund).  

No fee is required from an attorney who certifies that he or she is retired from the practice of law 

as defined in 22 NYCRR 118.1(g). For the purposes of Part 118, a full-time judge or justice of the 

Unified Court System or of a court of any other state or federal court is deemed “retired” from the 

practice of law and therefore exempt from paying the registration fee. 

For assistance with questions not answered above, please send an e-mail to: 

attyreg@courts.state.ny.us 

Or contact our office at the following address: 

New York State Unified Court System 

Office of Court Administration 

Attorney Registration Unit 

25 Beaver Street - Room 840 

New York, NY 10004 

212-428-2800 

 

http://www.nycourts.gov/rules/chiefadmin/118.shtml
http://www.nylawfund.org/
mailto:attyreg@courts.state.ny.us

