New York Courts dot gov
New York StateUnified Court System

Educational Tools - The David A. Garfinkel Essay Contest

2009 Essay Prize Winners

The topic of this year’s contest was The New Netherland Legal System and the Law of Twenty-First Century New York.

Elijah Fagan-Solis with Chief Judge Judith S. Kaye

Standing (left to right): 2008 contest winner Elijah Fagan-Solis with
Schenectady County Community College student Courtney Malewicz,
who took this year's second-place prize, and Queensborough Community
College's Dawar Jamal, the 2009 first-prize winner. Seated:
Chief Judge Jonathan Lippman and Chief Administrative Judge Ann Pfau.


2009 Honorable Mentions

Tanea S. Bakare
Alexandra Dorga
Christina A. Edmunds
Carlos G. Marin
Kimberly Molina
Meela Neebar

Current Winners