New York Courts dot gov
New York StateUnified Court System

Educational Tools - The David A. Garfinkel Essay Contest

2010 Essay Prize Winners

The topic of this year's contest was The Evolution of Justice Along the Erie Canal.

Leah Reino, Marilyn Marcus, Kerri Pickard-DePriest, Frances Murray

Standing (left to right): First Place Winner of the 2010 Garfinkel Essay
Contest Leah Reino from Genesse Community College, Executive Director
of the Historical Society of the Courts of the State of New York
Marilyn Marcus, Second Place Winner Kerri Pickard-DePriest from
Onondaga Community College and the Chief Law Librarian of the
Court of Appeals Frances Murray.



Ese Peter Abohwo, Queensboro Community College
Phyllis A. Washburn, Genesee Community College


2010 Honorable Mentions

Christina Basdeo, Queensboro Community College
Kristen Casper, Genesee Community College
Shannon Kilner, North Country Community College
Genevieve Oliveira, Genesee Community College
John Sambucci, Queensboro Community College
Cheuk W. Shum, Queensboro Community College

Current Winners