New York Courts dot gov
New York StateUnified Court System

Educational Tools - The David A. Garfinkel Essay Contest

2012 Essay Prize Winners

The topic of this year's contest was The Blue and the Gray: New York During the Civil War.

Leah Reino, Marilyn Marcus, Kerri Pickard-DePriest, Frances Murray

(L-R front row) Deputy Chief Administrative Judge Fern Fisher,
third prize winner Amanda Griffin from Genesee Community College,
second prize winner Mary E. Erckert from Erie Community College,
first prize winner Rodney Schuyler from Fulton-Montgomery
Community College, (L-R back row) Marilyn Marcus and Michael Benowitz
Historical Society Executive Director and Assistant Director respectively,
and Chief Librarian of the Court of Appeals Frances Murray.


2012 Honorable Mentions

Jeremy Michael Fletcher - Onondaga Community College
Cassandra L. Grice - Genesee Community College
Megan Henry - Queensborough Community College
Rebekah Kimble - Schenectady County Community College
Rachelle Lear - Onondaga Community College
Jordan Valerino - Onondaga Community College
Alexandra Woodruff - Jefferson Community College

Current Winners