AD4 seal
Supreme Court of the State of New York
Fourth Judicial Department

Justice Joanne M. Winslow was designated to the Appellate Division, Fourth Department by Governor Andrew M. Cuomo on May 23, 2017. She was elected as a Justice of the Supreme Court for the Seventh Judicial District in 2008. Justice Winslow was assigned to the Matrimonial Part until 2011, when she assumed an assignment to the Criminal Part, where she presided over felony indictments from arraignment through sentencing, as well as handling other legal matters. Prior to her election to the bench, Justice Winslow spent over two decades as an Assistant District Attorney with Monroe County, finishing her tenure at the DA's office as Bureau Chief for Major Felonies. She has been recognized for both her professional and civic service activities, receiving accolades for distinguished and dedicated service from the Rochester Police Department, Monroe County District Attorney's Office, Monroe County Sheriff's Office, and Boy Scouts of America. In December 2017, Chief Judge Janet DiFiore named Justice Winslow to serve on the Richard C. Failla LGBTQ Commission. She graduated magna cum laude from Springfield College in 1981 with a B.S. in Social Studies and Secondary Education, before receiving her J.D. from Albany Law School in 1986.