Nassau County Jury Board Meeting Minutes

April 16, 2024

- A. Judge DeStefano called the meeting to order at 5:00 p.m. and took attendance.
- B. Quorum was met. There were 42 out of 44 Jury Board members in attendance, and an additional 7 Jury Board Members who appeared virtually:

In Person

- 1. Judge Bennett
- 2. Judge Berkowitz
- 3. Judge Bogle
- 4. Judge Cairo
- 5. Judge Carlton
- 6. Judge Conway
- 7. Judge Corrigan
- 8. Judge Cozzens
- 9. Judge Daly-Sapraicone
- 10. Judge Dane
- 11.Judge DeStefano
- 12. Judge Driscoll
- 13. Judge Girardi
- 14. Judge D. Gugerty
- 15.Judge H. Gugerty
- 16. Judge Hoefenkreig
- 17. Judge Jimenez
- 18. Judge Lorintz
- 19.Judge Marber
- 20.Judge McCormack
- 21.Judge McDonald
- 22.Judge McGrath
- 23. Judge Muraca
- 24. Judge J. Murphy
- 25.Judge T. Murphy

- 26. Judge Peterson
- 27. Judge Quinn
- 28. Judge Rademaker
- 29. Judge Ricigliano
- 30. Judge Rizzo
- 31. Judge Robbins
- 32. Judge Singer
- 33. Judge Steinman
- 34. Judge Sullivan
- 35. Judge Voutsinas

<u>Virtual</u>

- 1. Judge Reilly
- 2. Judge St. George
- 3. Judge O'Donnell
- 4. Judge Fischer
- 5. Judge Prager
- 6. Judge Sturim
- 7. Judge Fink
- C. Judge DeStefano acknowledged OCA counsel Dave Nocenti's presence virtually.
- D. A motion was made to approve the minutes from the last Jury Board meeting on March 14, 2024. The motion was seconded by Judge Conway. The minutes were approved unanimously.
- E. Judge DeStefano invited a discussion regarding possible avenues in the event the Board does not reach a majority vote, as well as a quick discussion regarding the candidates which would require going into executive session. Judge DeStefano asked if there was any objection or if anyone wanted to make a motion to go into executive session. Judge Berkowitz made a motion to go into executive session which was approved by all Board members present.

The Jury Board went into executive session at approximately 5:10 pm. A motion to end executive session was made by Judge Voutsinas which was seconded by several

members of the Board. Without objection, the Board returned from executive session at approximately 5:22 pm.

F. Judge DeStefano announced that after having gone into executive session, the Board was going to vote on the three viable candidates, identified herein as Milli, Mike and Donna. Judge DeStefano requested the vote of each Jury Board Member present, in-person and virtually. The Judges voted as follows:

<u>JUDGE</u>	<u>VOTE</u>
Bennett	Mili
Berkowitz	Mili
Bogle	Mike
Cairo	Mike
Carlton	Mili
Conway	Mili
Corrigan	Mili
Cozzens	Mike
Daly-Sapraicone	Mike
Dane	Mili
DeStefano	Donna
Driscoll	Mili
Fink	Mili
Fischer	Mike
Girardi	Mike
Gugerty, D.	Mili
Gugerty, H.	Mili
Hoefenkreig	Mike
Jimenez	Donna
Lorintz	Mili
Marber	Mili
McCormack	Mili
McDonald	Mili
McGrath	Mike
Muraca	Mike
Murphy, J.	Mike
Murphy, T.	Mike

O'Donnell	Mike
Peterson	Mike
	Mili
Prager	
Quinn	Mike
Rademaker	Mike
Reilly	Mike
Ricigliano	Mike
Rizzo	Mike
Robbins	Mili
St. George	Mili
Singer	Mili
Steinman	Mili
Sturim	Mike
Sullivan	Mike
Voutsinas	Mili

Total: Mili – 20 votes

Mike – 20 votes

Donna – 2 votes

- G. A motion was made by Judge Rademaker to adopt the vote. The motion was seconded by Judge Conway and Judge Corrigan. The Board voted unanimously to adopt the vote. Judge DeStefano announced that the vote was adopted.
- H. A motion was made to adjourn the session which was seconded. A vote was taken by Judge DeStefano and a majority of the Board voted against adjourning (30 Judges voted to stay).
- I. A motion was made to go back into executive session which was seconded by several members of the board. After no objections the Board went back into executive session. Judge Cozzens left the meeting as the Board went into executive session.

The Board went back into executive session at approximately 5:30 p.m. to discuss next steps. A motion was made to end executive session by Judge Voutsinas which

was seconded by several members of the Board. The Board ended executive session at approximately 5:39 p.m.

- J. After exiting executive session, Judge Lorintz made a motion to adjourn the meeting which was seconded by Judge Conway and other members of the Board. The Board voted unanimously to adjourn.
- K. Judge DeStefano declared the meeting adjourned at approximately 5:40pm.