CourtHelp

Small Claims

Small Claims Court is a special part of the court where you can sue for money without a lawyer. You cannot sue to make someone do something or for pain and suffering. Anyone 18 years of age or older can sue in Small Claims Court. If you are less than 18 years old, your parent or guardian may sue on your behalf. Only an individual can sue in Small Claims Court. Corporations, partnerships, associations, or assignees cannot sue in Small Claims Court.

If you are the person starting the case, you are the claimant. The person you are suing is the defendant. In general, you can sue in the county that you or the defendant live in. If you or the defendant do not live in NYC, you can sue in the county where you or the defendant work or have a business address.

The links below can help you find information. Most courts also have small claims information on their websites. Use the court locator box to find your court. Search by City, Town, Village, District or Civil Court.

Guide to Small Claims in the NYS City, Town and Village Courts
This guide will tell you everything you need to know about Small Claims Court cases outside New York City, Nassau and Suffolk Counties. Learn how to start a case, collect a judgment, find resources and more.

You can sue for up to $5,000 in City Courts or up to $3,000 in Town and Village Courts.

Your Guide to Small Claims & Commercial Small Claims in New York City, Nassau County and Suffolk County
This guide will tell you everything you need to know about small claims and commercial small claims in New York City, Nassau and Suffolk Counties. Learn how to start a case, collect a judgment, find resources and more.

In New York City, you can sue for up to $10,000. In Nassau and Suffolk Counties you can sue for up to $5,000.

YouTube DIY Forms Ask a Law Librarian Court User Survey  
 
COURT LOCATOR



and/or