New York Courts dot gov
New York StateUnified Court System

About the Court

The New York State Supreme Court is a trial court of unlimited, original jurisdiction. It exercises its jurisdiction statewide. The mission of the Supreme Court, Criminal Term is to promote the rule of law and to serve the public by providing just and timely resolution of all matters before it.



The Criminal Term of the Supreme Court, New York County is responsible for the adjudication of all felony prosecutions in Manhattan. As of July 1, 2006 the court operates 33 courtrooms in two buildings. The 100 Centre Street facility has 18 court parts and is shared with the Manhattan Criminal Court, the Office of the District Attorney and other agencies. The facility at 111 Centre Street has 15 court parts and is shared with the Manhattan Civil Court. An average of over 2,000 people visit the Supreme Court, Criminal Term on a daily basis.



The Court is currently staffed with 33 judges and approximately 460 non-judicial personnel. The judicial staff is comprised of 2 Justices of the Supreme Court, 11 Court of Claims Judges, and 20 Acting Justices of the Supreme Court.



The Supreme Court, Criminal Term is divided into 1 all purpose part, 15 conference and trial parts, 1 youth part, 1 narcotics/sci part, 1 felony waiver/sci part, 1 integrated domestic violence part, 16 trial parts-which include 3 Judicial Diversion Parts and 1 Mental Health Part.