
Part Rules for the Westchester County Guardianship Part 

Hon. J. Emmett Murphy, J.S.C. 

111 Dr Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd.  (14th Floor) 

White Plains, New York 10601 

 

 

                Phone           Fax          

   

Debra Adler  Principal Court Attorney (914) 824-5732 (914) 824-5825 

Joseph Accetta Court Attorney/Referee (914) 824-5237 (914) 824-5897 

Edward Borrelli Guardianship Referee (914) 824-5329 (914) 824-5862  

Valorie Perez  Associate Court Attorney (914) 824-5811 (914) 824-5825 

Tim Hugelmeyer Senior Court Clerk  (914) 824-5372 (914) 824-5897 

Diane DiGiacomo Principal Secretary  (914) 824-5733 (914) 824-5825 

Stephanie Carlson Senior Court Analyst (914) 824-5804 (914) 824-5825 

Elizabeth Riley Assistant Court Analyst (914) 824-5377 (914) 824-5897 

  

 The Guardian Assistance Network offers advice and training for lay guardians under 

Article 81 of the New York State Mental Hygiene Law at: www.nycourts.gov.  Search under 

topics for Guardian Assistance Network and click on the word “manual” located on the left. 

 

 The following are the procedures and rules governing practice in the Westchester County 

Guardianship Part before the Hon. J. Emmett Murphy, J.S.C. 

 

 WESTCHESTER COUNTY GUARDIANSHIP PART 

 

1. Mental Hygiene Law Article 81 Guardianships are commenced by the filing of a 

Notice of Proceeding, Order to Show Cause and Verified Petition with a copy of the RJI. A 

format for the OTSC may be obtained by e-mail request to thugelme@nycourts.gov and placing 

in the subject line “forms request”. The back of the OTSC shall contain the Petitioner’s 

Attorney’s telephone and email & FAX number. Hearings will be held within 28 days of 

issuance of the OTSC, on a date set by the Court.  

       

2. All filings and correspondence must contain the assigned Index Number and, if 

applicable, return date.  

 

3. All motions shall be made by Order to Show Cause and not by Notice of Motion. 

 

4. No discovery motions shall be allowed without prior permission of the Court.  

CPLR Article 31 is the governing procedure for all discovery motions. Discovery shall not be 

permitted except under unusual circumstances. 

 

5. All orders and judgments shall be served by the movant on all counsel, the 

Guardian(s) and the Court Examiner within 10 days of the date of the decision, order and 

judgment. 

 

http://www.nycourts.gov/
mailto:thugelme@nycourts.gov


6. Proof of service must be filed with the Court on or before the return date of all 

motions and petitions. 

 

7. All adjournments require specific permission of the Court. Counsel must first seek 

the consent of all other counsel and interested parties before making any such request.   

 

8. Due to statutory dictates, it is the policy of the Part that only one (1) brief 

adjournment of a scheduled hearing date shall be allowed. The party who obtains the 

adjournment must submit a letter to the court confirming the adjournment, on notice to all 

counsel and all other interested parties by EMAIL. Due to the scheduling requirements of this 

Part, the adjourned date will be selected by the Court.   

 

9. Upon completion of the hearing, all individuals appointed by the Court shall 

comply with Part 36 of the Rules of the Chief Judge and file, when appropriate, a Statement of 

Approval of Compensation (UCS form 875 - with items 1 through 13 completed) along with 

their detailed Affidavit of Services. 

 

10. All proposed Findings of Fact/Conclusions of Law/Judgments shall follow the 

court forms, which may be obtained by e-mail request to thugelme@nycourts.gov and placing in 

the subject line “judgment request” and must be submitted within 7 days from receipt of the 

hearing transcript. Note: The Judgment must contain the proposed Guardian’s name, address 

and phone number. 

           

11. Petitioner’s counsel shall assist the proposed Guardian(s) in completing the 

educational requirement and obtaining the Commission to act as Guardian(s) from the County 

Clerk. The Commission must be obtained within 15 days of the signing of the Judgment.  

 

12. Any request for professional fees must be accompanied by a detailed affirmation 

of services with an itemized billing sheet and hourly rate(s), and must be approved by the Court 

prior to any payment being made.  

 

13. No guardianship commissions or fees for any professional services may be paid 

without prior approval of and order of the court. 

 

14. All accountings must be filed in the County Clerk’s Office with a copy to the 

assigned Court Examiner. Note: No compensation will be approved absent compliance with rule 

#9 above. 

 

15. Guardians should be guided by the applicable provisions of Article 81 of the 

Mental Hygiene Law for the filing provisions of initial reports and annual accountings. Any 

deviation from the schedules set forth therein must be with prior Court approval.   
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