JUDICIARY LAW 35(8) VOUCHER

This voucher should be used for Judiciary Law 35(8) Appointments ONLY - For
Representation of Indigent Parents in Supreme Court seeking Custody or Contesting the
Infringement of His or Her Right to Visitation, to Litigants facing Contempt or a Willful
Violation of a Child Support Order or Order of Protection.

The State is NOT responsible for the costs of representation associated with divorce,
annulment or equitable distribution because those issues could not have been resolved in
Family Court (see Judiciary Law 35(8])

Time is kept in “Real Time.” All activities on or after August 1, 2013 must have a start time
and a finish time.

Please provide enough detail in “summary of services” so that an auditor can determine
what the activity was, e.g., Drafted proposed visitation schedule, or Telephone call with
Respondent’s Attorney regarding visitation.

Please mail fully executed original vouchers to:

Appellate Division, Fourth Department
M. Dolores Denman Courthouse
Office of Attorneys for Children

50 East Ave.
Rochester, New York 14604



Instruction for Preparing Assigned Counsel Judiciary Law 35(8) Voucher
Voucher ID: Agency Internal Use Only

1. Vendor Name: Enter the name of the Individual Vendor/Firm Vendor as it appears in the
Statewide Financial System (SFS)

2. Vendor Identification Number: Enter the ten digit number provided by the Office of the
State Comptroller to conduct business in New York State. If payment should be made to you as
an individual, enter your Individual Vendor ID Number. If payment should be made to your firm,
enter the Firm’s Vendor ID Number. If you do not have a Vendor ID Number please contact Amy
Hugyecz at the Fourth Department Olffice of Attorneys for Children.

3. Business Name: Enter the Legal Business name as it appears in SFS.

4. Address: Enter the physical address that appears in SFS. If your address has changed, please
contact Amy Hugyecz at the Fourth Department Office of Attorneys for Children.

5. Docket/Index/File #: Enter the appropriate court docket, index or File # associated with the
case.

6. Reference/Invoice #: Enter the last name of the client for whom services were performed.
7. Date: Enter the date the voucher is submitted.

8. For legal services rendered...: Enter the County Supreme Court where you were assigned.
Enter the date range for services provided from - to and provide the Docket/Index/File # you
were assigned to.

9. Total Hours and Amount: Enter the Total Hours in the space provided. Enter the Total
Expenses in the space under Expenses/Amount field. The PDF voucher will calculate the Total
Hours multiplied by $75.00 and place the total under the Amount field.

10. Assigned Counsel Certification: The Attorney assigned as Assigned Counsel must sign and
date the Certification. Signature must be original in order for the voucher to be accepted for

payment.

Attach Required Documentation:
The following documentation must be submitted with the voucher for payment:

A. A copy of the court Order Assigning Counsel.
B. AC 35(8) Worksheet. The 35(8) Worksheet will not be accepted if handwritten.
C. An Affirmation of Extraordinary Circumstances is required for any voucher
requesting payment in excess of $4,400.00.
D. Any required receipts. See page 2 of the Compensation and Reimbursement
Guidelines - Judiciary Law 35(8)



Instruction for Preparing Assigned Counsel Judiciary Law 35(8) Activity Worksheet
Payee Name: Enter the Attorney Assigned name.
Client Name: Enter the First and Last name for your client.
Date Assigned: Enter the date you were Assigned to represent your client.

Docket/Index/File #: Enter the docket(s)/Index/File # that you were assigned to represent your
client on.

Disposition Date: Enter the date that the matter was disposed in Supreme Court.
Worksheet: You are required to enter the “Real Time” for any activities on or after 8/1/2013.
Completing the Worksheet:
Date: Enter the date that the activity occurred, e.g. 12/1/13

Start Time: Enter the time that you started the activity, e.g. 10:15 a.m. Make
sure you enter a.m or p.m, or use Military Time when inputting your start
time.

Finish Time: Enter the time that the activity ended, e.g. 10:45 a.m. Make sure
you enter a.m or p.m, or use Military Time when inputting your finish time.

Time Spent: The PDF will use the Start Time and Finish Time to calculate the
decimal time spent and populate the Time Spent field automatically based on the
time you input.

In/Out/or Exp Column: Please indicate whether the activity was in-court, out-of-
court, or an expense. If the activity was in-court, type “In.” If the activity was out-

of-court, type “Out.” If the activity was an expense, please type the dollar amount

of the expense, e.g, “$5.00.”

Summary of Services Provided: Provide a brief summary of the service
provided, e.g. Meeting with Petitioner’s Attorney regarding Custody agreement.

Total Hours: The worksheet will calculate the total hours billed on the page. If
you only have one worksheet, take the total from the bottom of the page and place
that number in the “Total Hours Field” on the first page of the voucher. If you
have several worksheets, take the totals from the bottom of each page, add them
together and place that number in the “Total Hours Field” on the first page of the
voucher. The PDF form will calculate the Total Hours multiplied by $75.00 and
place that number in the “Amount” field automatically.






