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L INTRODUCTION

The Local Courts Advisory Committee is one of the standing advisory committees
established by the Chief Administrative Judge of the Courts pursuant to section 212(1)(q) of the
Judiciary Law. The Committee advises the Chief Administrative Judge on all issues relating to
the operations of the New York City Civil Court, New York City Criminal Court, District Courts,
City Courts outside of New York City and Town and Village Courts. The Committee also acts
as liaison with the professional associations of the judges and clerks of these courts and
coordinates its actions and recommendations with other advisory committees established by the
Chief Administrative Judge. During 2004, the Committee was comprised of 15 members, all
judges, clerks, or attorneys of the local courts. As in the past, the Committee considered a wide
range of issues, including practice and procedure, facilities, staffing and resources.

For 2005, the Committee recommends six new proposals for inclusion in its legislative
program, including proposals affecting the Criminal Procedure Law, the Vehicle and Traffic
Law, and all of the Uniform Court Acts. These proposals are based on the Committee’s own
studies, examination of decisional law, and suggestions received from the bench and bar, as well
as members of the public. The Committee also reviews and make recommendations with respect
to existing court rules.

The Committee welcomes comments and suggestions concerning issues that arise in the
local courts. Any comments and suggestions may be addressed to:

Hon. Judy Harris Kluger, Co-Chair Hon. Duncan S. MacAffer, Co-Chair

Deputy Chief Administrative Judge Local Courts Advisory Committee
Court Operations and Planning State of New York

State of New York Unified Court System

Unified Court System Empire State Plaza

Empire State Plaza 4 ESP, Suite 2001

4 ESP, Suite 2001 Albany, New York 12223-1450

Albany, New York 12223-1450



II. NEW LEGISLATION

1. Commencement of Thirty-Day Period for Filing
a Supporting Deposition
(CPL 100.25)

This measure would amend the Criminal Procedure Law by establishing the court
appearance date set forth on the simplified information or appearance ticket as the earliest date
when the 30-day period for service of a supporting deposition by the complainant police officer
starts to run.

Currently, a defendant charged by a simplified information is entitled to have filed in
court and served upon him or her a supporting deposition alleging facts that establish reasonable
cause for the charges that are the subject of the simplified information. Under the procedure set
forth in CPL 100.25, in order to obtain the supporting deposition, the defendant must request it
from the court within the time frame defined by the statute -- specifically, before a plea of guilty
or the commencement of trial, but no later than 30 days after the court appearance date set forth
on the simplified information. See CPL 100.25(2). Upon receipt of the request, the court orders
the police officer to supply the supporting deposition. The police officer then has 30 days from
the court’s receipt of the request to serve and file the supporting deposition. Id. Failure to serve
the supporting deposition within 30 days constitutes sufficient cause for dismissal of the case.
See CPL 170.30(1)(a) and 100.40(2).

A problem arises from the fact that the Criminal Procedure Law does not require the court
that orders a supporting deposition to inform the police officer exactly when it received the
request for the deposition and hence when the 30-day period starts to run. Normally, this fact
does not pose a problem where the defendant requests the supporting deposition when he or she
personally appears in court on the date stated on the simplified information. In that case, the
police officer can safely assume that the 30-day period starts on the date of the court’s order
because that date typically coincides with the date of the defendant’s appearance and request.
However, where a court officially acts upon defendant’s request and issues its order several days
or weeks after the receipt by mail of defendant’s request for a supporting deposition -- such as,
for example, local courts that hear traffic cases once or twice a month -- the police officer who
receives that order runs the risk of running afoul of the 30-day rule since the date of the court’s
order will not coincide with the date of defendant’s request.

By establishing the court appearance date posted on the simplified information or
appearance ticket as the earliest date that the 30-day period for serving and filing a supporting
deposition can begin to run, the amendment conforms the Criminal Procedure Law with current
practice in the courts. Moreover, while preserving a defendant’s right to receive a supporting
deposition, this proposal assures that the case will be decided on the merits by enabling a police
officer to file a supporting deposition in a timely fashion.



Proposal

AN ACT to amend the criminal procedure law, in relation to the service of a supporting
deposition

The People of the State of New York, represented in Senate and Assembly. do enact as

follows:

Section 1. Subdivision (2) of section 100.25 of the criminal procedure law, as amended
by chapter 67 of the laws of 1996, is amended to read as follows:

2. A defendant charged by a simplified information is, upon a timely request, entitled as a
matter of right to have filed with the court and served upon him or her, or if such defendant is
represented by an attorney, upon his or her attorney, a supporting deposition of the complainant
police officer or public servant, containing allegations of fact, based either upon personal
knowledge or upon information and belief, providing reasonable cause to believe that the
defendant committed the offense or offenses charged. To be timely, such a request must, except
as otherwise provided herein and in subdivision three of this section, be made before entry of a
plea of guilty to the charge specified and before commencement of a trial thereon, but not later
than thirty days after the date the defendant is directed to appear in court as such date appears
upon the simplified information and upon the appearance ticket issued pursuant thereto. If the
defendant's request is mailed to the court, the request must be mailed within such thirty day
period. Upon such a request, the court must order the complainant police officer or public
servant to serve a copy of such supporting deposition upon the defendant or his or her attorney,
within thirty days of the date such request is received by the court, or at least five days before

trial, whichever is earlier, and to file such supporting deposition with the court together with



proof of service thereof. In the event that the request is made prior to the date that the defendant

is directed to appear in court as such date appears upon the simplified information and upon the
appearance ticket issued pursuant thereto, the thirty-day period for service by the people of a

copy of the supporting deposition shall commence on the aforementioned court appearance date.

Notwithstanding any provision to the contrary, where a defendant is issued an appearance ticket
in conjunction with the offense charged in the simplified information and the appearance ticket
fails to conform with the requirements of subdivision two of section 150.10, a request is timely
when made not later than thirty days after (a) entry of the defendant's plea of not guilty when he
or she has been arraigned in person, or (b) written notice to the defendant of his or her right to
receive a supporting deposition when a plea of not guilty has been submitted by mail.
§ 2. This act shall take effect on the first day of January next succeeding the date on

which it shall have become law and shall apply to all actions an proceedings commenced on or

after such effective date.



2. Entry of Default Judgment for Certain Petty Offenses
(CPL 170.10)

This measure would add a new subsection 10 to section 170.10 of the Criminal Procedure
Law to authorize a court to enter a guilty plea and issue a default judgment against persons
charged with petty offenses who do not appear in court to answer their respective charges.

Currently, thousands of summons are issued for such offenses to persons who
purposefully refuse to respond to them. Petty offense for the purpose of this amendment means
any violation (see CPL 1.20) and as a practical matter includes a wide and varied range of
charges such as, among others, harassment in the second degree (Penal Law § 240.26), disorderly
conduct (Penal Law § 240.20), unlawful postings of advertisement (Penal Law § 145.30), and
unlawful possession of an air gun on school grounds (Penal Law § 265.06). These minor
offenses, however, rarely justify the time and expense of issuing an arrest warrant to compel the
attendance of the person charged with the petty offense. As a result, the summonses remain
unenforced and the law ignored. This measure is an effort to establish a meaningful disincentive
for such disregard of the law.

This measure specifically excludes traffic infractions because the failure to respond to a
summons is covered by V&TL § 1806-a. It also excludes the petty offenses of loitering for a
deviate sexual purpose (CPL 240.35(3)) and loitering for the purpose of engaging in prostitution
(CPL 240.37(2)), both of which are printable offenses. See CPL 160.10(1)(d) and (e). Since the
Legislature has concluded that the seriousness of this class of offenses warrants the creation of an
identifying record that protects the innocent defendant from false accusations as well as assists
courts in sentencing repeat offenders, see CPL 160.10 Practice Commentaries (McKinney’s
2004), persons charged with these loitering offenses should not be subject to criminal liability as
a result of a default judgment, which is not based on the determination of the merits of the state’s
case.

Although this proposal authorizes the entry of a guilty plea and the issuance of a default
Judgment, which can be enforced as a civil judgment, it affords the defendant an additional
opportunity to appear in court and defend against the charge. The clerk of the court is directed to
send by certified mail a notice to the defendant that a guilty plea will be entered and a default
judgment issued against that defendant unless he or she appears and answers the charges. The
proposal provides that where the defendant appears and pleads not guilty, no fine or penalty shall
be imposed against that defendant prior to the holding of a trial.

Proposal

AN ACT to amend the criminal procedure law, in relation to the entry of a guilty plea and a
default judgment for certain petty offenses for non-answering defendants



The People of the State of New York, represented in Senate and Assembly., do enact as

follows:
Section 1. Section 170.10 of the criminal procedure law is amended by adding
subdivision 10 to read as follows:

10(a) Notwithstanding any other provision of law to the contrary, in the event any person

charged with a petty offense, other than a traffic infraction defined in the vehicle and traffic law
or a violation of loitering as described in paragraph (d) or (e) of subdivision one of section
160.10, does not answer within the time specified, the court having jurisdiction, in addition to
any other action authorized by law, may enter a plea of guilty on behalf of the defendant and
render a default judgment of a fine determined by the court within the amount authorized by law

upon conviction for such offense. Any such default judgment shall be civil in nature, but shall be

treated as a conviction for the purposes of this section. However, at least thirty days after the

expiration of the original date prescribed for entering a plea and before a plea of guilty and a

default judgment may be rendered, the clerk of the court, shall notify the defendant by certified

mail: (a) of the violation charged; (b) of the impending plea of guilty and default judgment; (c)

that such judgment will be filed with the county court clerk of the county in which the person is

located, and (d) that a default judgment or plea of guilty may be avoided by entering a plea or
making an appearance within thirty days of the sending of such notice. Pleas entered within that

period shall be in a manner prescribed in the notice. In no case shall a default judgment and plea

of guilty be rendered more than two years after the expiration of the time prescribed for originally
entering a plea. When a person has entered a plea of not guilty and has demanded a trial, no fine

or penalty shall be imposed for any reason prior to the holding of the trial, which shall be




scheduled by the court within sixty days of such demand.

(b) The filing of the default judgment with the county clerk shall have the full force and

effect of a judgment duly docketed in the office of such clerk and may be enforced in the same

manner and with the same effect as that provided by law in respect to executions issued against

property upon judgments of a court of record and such judgment shall remain in full force and

effect for ten vears notwithstanding any other provision of law.

(c) Notwithstanding the provisions of paragraph (a) of this subdivision, the clerk of the
court shall have two years from the effective date of this act to serve notice upon a defendant
charged with a petty offense other than a traffic infraction or a violation of loitering as described

in paragraph (d) or (e) of subdivision one of section 160.10 who has not answered within the

time specified and prior to the effective date of this act.

§ 3. This act shall take effect on the first day of January next succeeding the date on

which it shall have become law.



3. Violation for Unauthorized Parking in Handicapped Parking Area Access Aisle
(VTL § 1203-b)

This measure would amend the Vehicle and Traffic Law to make it a violation to park in
a handicapped parking area access aisle in all public parking fields.

Currently, section 1203-b makes it a violation for a person to stop, stand or park in any
area designated as a handicapped parking space unless the vehicle bears the requisite parking
permit.

A problem arises where a person stops, stands or parks in the access aisle that is used to
reach a parking space designated for handicapped drivers. A parked or stopped car in a parking
aisle interferes with a handicapped driver’s ability to park his or her car and ultimately
undermines the law’s protection of a handicapped person’s ability to park in a space designated

for his or her use.

Section 1203-c does prohibit parking in a handicapped parking aisle, but this prohibition
is limited only to parking fields associated with a shopping center or facility. There is no basis
for treating a driver with a disability one way in a shopping mall parking lot and another way in
other public parking fields, such as a government center parking lot.

This proposal seeks to make the legal protections afforded to drivers with a disability
applicable to all public parking fields.

Proposal

AN ACT to amend the criminal procedure law, in relation to unauthorized parking in a
handicapped parking area

The People of the State of New York, represented in Senate and Assembly, do enact as
follows:

Section 1. Subdivision 2 of section 1203-b of the vehicle and traffic law, as amended by
chapter 203 of the laws of 1981, is amended to read as follows:

2. It shall be a violation for any person to stop, stand or park a vehicle (a) in any area

designated as a place for handicapped parking unless the vehicle bears a permit issued under



section one thousand two hundred three-a or a registration issued under section four hundred
four-a of this chapter and such vehicle is being used for the transportation of a severely disabled
or handicapped person or (b) in a handicapped parking access aisle. This subdivision shall not
apply to a violation of section twelve hundred three-c of this chapter.

§ 2. This act shall take effect on the first day of January next succeeding the date on

which it shall have become law.



4. Posting Bail by Credit Card
(CPL 520.10)

This proposal would amend the Criminal Procedure Law to authorize the use of a credit
card for the posting of bail in all cases.

Currently, section 520.10 of the Criminal Procedure Law authorizes the use of a credit
card for the posting of bail only where a defendant is charged with a violation under the Vehicle
and Traffic Law. In light of the success of this provision in traffic cases and the expansion of the
use of credit cards to other monetary charges such as the payment of fines, mandatory surcharges
and crime victim assistance fees, see chapter 537 of the laws of 2003, there is no reason not to
permit the use of credit cards to pay bail in other types of cases.

By amending section 520.10 so as to remove the current restriction of credit card

payments to Vehicle and Traffic Law violations, this proposal would grant to a court the greatest
degree of flexibility in determining which form of bail is appropriate in a particular case.

Proposal

AN ACT to amend the criminal procedure law, in relation to the posting of bail by making a
credit card payment

The People of the State of New York. represented in Senate and Assembly, do enact as

follows:

Section 1. Paragraph (i) of subdivision 1 of section 520.10 of the Criminal Procedure
Law, as amended by chapter 805 of the laws of 1987, is amended to read as follows:

(1) Credit card or similar device [where the principal is charged with a violation under the
vehicle and traffic law]; provided, however, notwithstanding any other provision of law, any
person posting bail by credit card or similar device also may be required to pay a reasonable
administrative fee. The amount of such fee and the time and manner of its payment shall be in
accordance with the system established pursuant to subdivision four of section 150.30 of this

chapter or paragraph [(i)] (1) of subdivision two of section two hundred twelve of the judiciary

10



law, as appropriate.
§ 2. This act shall take effect on the first day of January next succeeding the date on

which it shall have become law.

11



5. Violation for False Vehicle Parking Permit for Handicapped Persons
(VTL § 1203-a)

This proposal would amend the Vehicle and Traffic Law to make it unlawful to create a
fake special vehicle identification parking permit.

Currently, as part of the parking privileges afforded to drivers with a disability or
handicap, section 1203-a(4) of the Vehicle and Traffic Law makes it is unlawful for an otherwise
healthy driver to obtain a parking permit for handicapped drivers using false information. A
growing problem throughout the state is the use by healthy drivers of fake or materially altered
handicapped driver parking permits. This problem is not addressed by section 1203-a(4).

By amending section 1203-a(4) to include persons who forge a handicapped driver
parking permit, this proposal would eliminate the anomaly in the law that makes it illegal for a

person to make a false statement to obtain a genuine parking permit, but does not make it illegal
to forge such a permit.

Proposal

AN ACT to amend the criminal procedure law, in relation to the use of false parking permit

The People of the State of New York, represented in Senate and Assembly, do enact as

follows:

Section 1. Subdivision 4 of the section 1203-a of the vehicle and traffic law, as amended
by chapter 180 of the laws of 1996, is amended to read as:

4. A person who knowingly and wilfully with the intent to deceive makes a false
statement or gives information which such individual knows to be false to a public official to

obtain a parking permit for handicapped persons or who uses or displays an altered or counterfeit

special vehicle identification parking permit or one issued to another person in addition to any

other penalty provided by law shall be subject to a civil penalty of not less than two hundred fifty

dollars nor more than one thousand dollars.

12



§ 2. This act shall take effect on the first day of January next succeeding the date on
which it shall have become law; provided, however, it shall not apply to any person on account
of his or her use or display of an altered or counterfeit special vehicle identification parking

permit or one issued to another person prior to such effective date.
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6. Issuance of Transcript of Judgment
(UDCA § 1911, UCCA § 1911, UICA § 1911,
and NYCCCA § 1911)

This proposal would amend the New York City Civil Court Act, Uniform District Court
Act, Uniform City Court Act, and Uniform Justice Court Act to authorize a fee for issuing a
transcript of judgment.

Section 1911 of the New York City Civil Court Act and each of the aforementioned
Uniform Court Acts authorize the clerk of the respective courts to collect a fee for issuing a
satisfaction of judgment and any certificate attesting to the satisfaction of the judgment. The
problem arises from the fact that none of these Court Acts expressly authorizes a fee for the
issuance of a transcript of judgment. The current practice in each of these courts, however, has
been to collect a fee for the transcript of judgment.

The legal justification for the current practice is the definition of the term “certificate of
judgment”, as set forth in section 255-c of the Judiciary Law, which necessarily incorporates a
transcript of judgment. Because a transcript of judgment is a form of certificate of judgment, the
courts are authorized under the Judiciary Law collect a fee for either a certificate or transcript of
Judgment.

By including an express reference to transcript of judgment in each of the Court Acts, this

proposal seeks to conform the actual language of each of the Court Acts with the current practice
in each court.

Proposal

AN ACT to amend the New York city civil court act, the uniform district court act, the uniform
city court act, and the uniform justice court act, in relation to the fee for the issuance of a
transcript of judgment.

The People of the State of New York, represented in Senate and Assembly. do enact as

follows:
Section 1. Subdivision (m) of section of 1911 of the New York city civil court act, as
amended by chapter 62 of the laws of 2003 and by chapter 686 of the laws of 2003, is amended

to read as:

14



(m) For issuing a transcript of judgment, fifteen dollars.

(n) For any other matter, not provided for above, for which there would be a fee payable
in the supreme court of a county within the city of New York, the same fee; except that this
subdivision shall not apply to the fees required to be paid in supreme court (i) upon the filing of a
motion or cross-motion pursuant to subdivision (a) of section 8020 of the civil practice law and
rules, and (ii) upon the filing of a stipulation of settlement or a voluntary discontinuance pursuant
to subdivision (d) of such section.

§ 2. Paragraph (5) of subdivision (a) of the section 1911 of the uniform district court act,
as amended by chapter 62 of the laws of 2003, is amended to read as:

(5) For issuing a satisfaction of judgment, a transcript of judgment, or a certificate
regarding the judgment, six dollars.

§ 3. Paragraph (7) of subdivision (a) of the section 1911 of the uniform city court act, as
amended by chapter 686 of the laws of 2003, is amended to read as:

(7) For issuing a satisfaction of judgment, a transcript of judgment, or a certificate
regarding the judgment, six dollars.

§ 4. Subparagraph f of paragraph 1 of subdivision (a) of section 1911 of the uniform
justice court act, as amended by chapter 489 of the laws of 2001, is amended to read as:

f. For issuing a satisfaction of judgment, a transcript of judgment, or a certificate
regarding the judgment, two dollars.

§ 5. This act shall take effect on the first day of January next succeeding the date on

which it shall have become law.
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III. PREVIOUSLY ENDORSED LEGISLATION

1. Simplified Turnover Proceedings
(NYCCCA § 1812.1 and CPLR 5221)

This proposal is an attempt to respond to the persistent complaint, particularly heard in
the New York City Civil Court, that obtaining a judgment in small claims court is an exercise in
futility because the judgment cannot be enforced absent time consuming and expensive
procedures held in the regular part of the court. The proposal creates a temporary pilot program
to address this problem by creating a new section, 1812.1 of the New York City Civil Court Act,
to authorize a simplified turnover proceeding. The simplified turnover proceeding is meant to
target the specific problem that typically arises when a judgment debtor has assets in a joint bank
account—assets that belong to both the judgment debtor and a non-debtor.

It is fairly simple to obtain information about the existence and location of a judgment
debtor’s assets through the use of an information subpoena. Then, the assets may be restrained
and an execution levied on them. However, a problem is encountered when the assets exist in a
joint bank account. Due to the significant due process concerns that arise with respect to the
rights of the non-judgment debtor, banks typically refuse to release assets from a joint account
upon an execution. A common bank practice, in order to insure that the bank will not be liable
for improper release of the assets, is for the bank to force a special proceeding to determine the
rights to the assets. Currently, this special proceeding must take place in the regular part of the
New York City Civil Court, as authorized by CPLR 5221.

Bringing a special proceeding in the regular part of the court involves the judgment
creditor having to, in essence, commence a second lawsuit. A filing fee is charged and the
proceeding is made returnable on the daytime Civil Court calendar, as opposed to the evening
Small Claims calendar. The process and expense seem to defeat the purpose of having a small
claims part and frustrate many a judgment creditor.

This proposal sets up a special proceeding, the simplified turnover proceeding, that will
occur within the small claims part of the New York City Civil Court, without the cost of another
filing fee. In order to protect the due process interests of all the parties involved, the proposal sets
up a fairly narrow category of cases in which the simplified tunover proceeding may be used.
The limitations may be evaluated as the simplified turnover proceeding is used.

Subdivision (a) sets the parameters to determine which cases will be eligible for the
simplified turnover proceeding:

1. There must be a recorded judgment of the small claims court.

2. At least one execution has been issued against the bank, but the bank has refused
to turn over such assets. This requirement helps insure that out-of-court process

16



has been attempted to collect the assets, but, essentially, the bank has forced a
special proceeding.

3. The bank has a place for the regular transaction of business in person within the
jurisdiction of the small claims court. This requirement has jurisdictional, as well
as venue, implications. The limitation is an effort to insure that there are minimal
service and concomitant due process issues implicated in the pilot program.
Additionally, as with the restraining device, it is best to notify the exact branch of
the bank (rather than a non-local corporate office) of the proceeding regarding the
assets.

If each of the above requirements is met, subdivision (b) entitles the judgment creditor to
commence a “simplified turnover proceeding” against the bank in the same small claims court in
which the underlying judgment was recorded. There is no fee for bringing such a simplified
turnover proceeding. The simplified turnover proceeding may seek the release of assets in the
amount of the underlying judgment. If the respondent holds less than that, the judgment in the
simplified turnover proceeding will cover only so much of the underlying judgment as may be
satisfied by the assets held — the bank cannot be forced to turn over more of the judgment
debtor’s assets than it holds. Pursuant to NYCCCA § 1901(c), no costs are taxed in a simplified
turnover proceeding,.

The simplified turnover proceeding authorized by this section is considered a special
proceeding, which would technically be a separate proceeding from the underlying action.
However, in order to help the court keep track of which proceeding goes with which judgment,
the proposal provides that a simplified turnover proceeding shall receive the same index number
as the underlying small claims action -- thus, no separate filing fee. But, despite the same index
number, the simplified turnover proceeding should bear its own caption, largely because the
parties are not the same. The caption should indicate in bold print “SIMPLIFIED TURNOVER
PROCEEDING,” name the judgment creditor as the petitioner and name the third party holder of
assets as the respondent. The simplified turnover proceeding is commenced by notice of petition
and petition, served in the same manner as the summons in the underlying small claims action.
Again, this requirement is meant to minimize service and due process issues, especially because
the result of a lack of appearance may be a default judgment against the bank.

Other due process issues arise with respect to the judgment debtor, who is not technically
a party, but who 1s certainly interested in the fate of the assets. Accordingly, upon
commencement of the simplified turnover proceeding, the court shall notify the judgment debtor
of the commencement by serving a copy of the notice of petition and petition on the judgment
debtor by first class mail. The service requirement is not so stringent because the judgment
debtor already knows there is a judgment existing against him or her — service here is simply a
courtesy to let the debtor know that serious action is being taken to collect on the judgment.

Yet other due process concerns arise when the assets are held in a joint account and,

17



therefore, a non-debtor also has an interest in the account. Thus, the notice of petition is designed
to offer courtesy to the judgment debtor, as well as more substantial due process protection to
other potential interveners. The notice of petition shall take the form prescribed by the Chief
Administrator of the Courts and shall include all of the following information:

(A)

(B)

(©)

(D)

(E)

(F)

the caption.

the date, time and location, including the address of the court, upon which the
petition will be heard.

a statement to the respondent that the failure to appear may result in the entry of
judgment against the respondent for an amount out of the assets held that may be
used to satisfy the underlying judgment.

a statement of notice to the judgment debtor that the merits of the underlying
small claims action may not be contested and that the judgment debtor may
intervene in the simplified turnover proceeding only for the purpose of disputing
an interest in the assets at issue or to claim an exemption applies. The clearest
“defense” that the judgment debtor has that could stop the proceeding from going
forward is that the assets do not belong to him or her at all.

a statement that any other person may intervene in the simplified turnover
proceeding solely for the purpose of claiming an interest in the assets at issue.
This statement simply puts all parties and the judgment debtor on notice that
someone else may be involved in this matter.

a statement that if the respondent is aware of a potential claim by any other
person, the respondent shall provide notice of the simplified turnover proceeding
to such person by first class mail. This requirement probably could not be
enforced. However, as a practical matter, it is logical that the bank would want the
non-debtor account holder to become involved in the proceeding in order to sort
everything out in an expedient fashion. Indeed, if the full fledged CPLR 5239
enforcement proceeding were to be used, the bank would probably want to
interplead the non-debtor account holder if, for some reason, that person refused
to intervene.

Similarly, the petition shall take the form prescribed by the Chief Administrator of the
Courts and shall include information to offer various due process assurances to all involved:

(A)

(B)

the caption.

the name and address of the petitioner.
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(C)  the name and address of the respondent.
(D)  the name and address of the judgment debtor—for ease of notification.
(E)  the amount of the underlying judgment.

(F) an explanation of how the petitioner is aware that relevant assets are being held by
the respondent. This requirement is not onerous. Pursuant to NYCCCA § 1812,
the small claims clerk is required to issue an information subpoena upon request,
for a nominal fee, and assist the judgment creditor. The information subpoena
provides an explanation that will help to satisfy the court that the assets do exist
and that will help the bank fulfill its efforts to avoid liability for the release of
assets. Information may be provided in other forms, but an information subpoena
1s probably the most helpful for these purposes.

(G)  the date of the issuance of the execution, the name and address of the executing
officer and an indication of whether the assets are restrained.

(H)  the total amount of relief requested.

The proposal provides for two possible scenarios at the return date of the petition: (1)
there is no indication that there is a problem with releasing the assets (i.e., the judgment debtor
does not dispute ownership; the judgment debtor does dispute ownership, but it is obvious that
the dispute is without merit; there does not actually appear to be any other joint owner of the
assets); or (2) the assets are apparently jointly owned assets, and a non-debtor “tenant” exists. In
the first instance, subdivision (d) requires the court to order the bank to release from the assets a
sum no greater than the amount of the underlying judgment.

In the latter instance, subdivision (e) requires the court to schedule a hearing of the matter
no later than sixty days from the appearance date indicated in the notice of petition. Sixty days
should provide adequate time to serve notice, as is required, but still provides a fairly expedited
time frame. The small claims court shall serve the non-judgment debtor tenant, in the same
manner as the summons in the underlying small claims action, with a copy of the notice of
petition and petition, together with a notice of the hearing date. The service requirement is
stringent here to cover due process concerns. The notice of hearing date shall state that the
hearing is a special proceeding to determine claims to assets that are alleged to be jointly held
assets and that failure to appear at the hearing may result in a waiver of interest in the assets. The
waiver statement is another effort to cover due process concerns. These considerations, coupled
with the mechanics of the hearing comply with the parameters established by case law to protect
the rights of the non-debtor tenant. See Mendel v. Chervanyou, 147 Misc2d 1056 (NYC Civil

Court, Kings County, 1990); Household Finance Corporation v. Rochester Community Savings
Bank, 143 Misc2d 436 (Rochester City Court, 1989).
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At the hearing, subdivision (f) requires the court to hear evidence from all of the
interested parties in order to determine the amount of each party’s interest in the assets. This step
is necessary due to the state of the law regarding joint tenancy issues and bank accounts. See
Tayar v. Tayar, 208 AD2d 609 (2d Dept, 1994); Viggiano v. Viggiano, 136 AD2d 630 (2d Dept,
1988). The opening of a joint bank account creates a presumption, pursuant to the Banking Law,
that each named tenant is possessed of the whole account, such that the whole account is
vulnerable to a judgment creditor’s efforts against one of the joint tenants. However, the
presumption is rebuttable because a presumption also exists that each party is entitled to half of
the account. Joint tenants are possessed of the half and the whole — if they are each possessed of
the whole, they are clearly each entitled to half. See Mendel, supra. Or, another way to view it is
that the debtor’s whole possessory interest seems to make the entire account vulnerable to a
money judgment, but the nondebtor tenant’s reciprocal whole possessory interest would appear
to prevent the release of the funds. See Household Finance Corporation, supra. Thus, banks seek
court orders before they release funds from joint accounts. Because of the dual presumptions,
courts have determined that the burden of proof is on the person trying to obtain more than half
of the funds in a joint account -- the judgment creditor. See Mendel, supra; Household Finance
Corporation, supra. Accordingly, if the judgment creditor is seeking more than one half of the
funds, the judgment creditor must provide evidence that the judgment debtor has a possessory
interest in more than one half of the funds.

Aside from the Banking Law presumptions, several other issues may arise that would
prevent the bank from releasing funds to this particular judgment creditor. There may be a
priority established to the funds by another person; or, there may be stays of bankruptcy that
would affect the funds. Accordingly, the proposal sets up a road map to help judges become
aware of these issues, and requires that, during the course of the hearing, the court shall elicit
information pertinent to these matters:

1. whether any people, other than those present and those who were served
notice of the hearing but are not present, may claim an interest in the
assets; and

2. whether any people claiming a possessory interest in the assets have been

or are currently involved in bankruptcy proceedings; and
3. whether any levy, lien, execution or restraint has ever been placed on the
assets as a result of any action or proceeding other than the underlying

small claims action; and

4. whether any exemptions apply to the assets such that they are not available
for collection.

At this point, the proposal, again, provides for two possible scenarios: (1) the court is
satisfied that all interested people were served with notice of the hearing, that none of the people
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claiming a possessory interest in the assets is or has been involved in a bankruptcy proceeding,
and that no other levy, lien, execution or restraint exists that would establish another person’s
priority to the assets; or (2) the small claims court determines that the adverse claims are too
complex to be dispensed with upon a simplified turnover proceeding. In the first instance,
subdivision (g) requires the court to determine the possessory interest of each person claiming an
interest in the assets. Out of the amount of assets determined to be possessed by the judgment
debtor, the court shall order the third party holder of assets to release a sum no greater than the
amount of the underlying judgment. Obviously, if the third party holds less than the full amount
of the underlying judgment, it will only be obligated to turn over the lesser amount.

In the latter instance, which could occur for a variety of reasons beyond the enumerated
due process, priority or bankruptcy issues, subdivision (h) requires the court to dismiss the
petition, with leave to the judgment creditor to bring a special proceeding to enforce a judgment
in the regular part of the court pursuant to CPLR Article 52. There seems to be no way to avoid
sending a judgment creditor in a complex case to the regular part of court for regular special
proceedings. Similarly, there is no current way to help judgment creditors whose cases do not fall
into the category established by subdivision (a) of the proposal. All of these creditors, however,
may take solace in the fact that the existing proceedings do work. See House v. Lalor, 119 Misc
2d 193 (Sup Ct NY County 1983)(NYC sheriff sold at auction a judgment debtor’s $200,000
interest in a co-op for $15,000, $350 of which was turned over to the judgment creditor).

Finally, this act is set to take effect on the ninetieth day after it shall become a law and
shall apply to all judgments entered on and after such effective date. The act shall expire
December 31, 2010, at which time the efficacy of the program should be evaluated for
continuation and possible expansion.

Proposal

AN ACT to amend the New York City civil court act and the civil practice law and rules, in
relation to establishing a simplified turnover proceeding to aid in the enforcement of

certain judgments obtained in the small claims part of the civil court of the city of New
York

The People of the State of New York, represented in Senate and Assembly, do enact as

follows:
Section 1. The New York city civil court act is amended by adding a new section 1812.1

to read as follows:

§ 1812.1. Simplified Turnover Proceedings. (a) The special procedures set forth in
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subdivision (b) hereof shall be available only where:

1. there is a recorded judgment of the small claims court; and

2. at least one execution has been issued against the third party holder of assets, but the
third party holder of assets has failed to turn over such assets following such execution; and

3. the third party holder of assets resides or is regularly employed or has a place for the
regular transaction of business in person within the jurisdiction of the small claims court in

which the judgment is recorded.

(b) A judgment creditor shall be entitled to commence a “simplified turnover proceeding”
against the third party holder of the assets in the same small claims court in which the underlying

Judgment was recorded. No fee pursuant to article 19 of this act shall be charged for bringing
such a simplified turnover proceeding. The simplified turnover proceeding may seek the release
of assets in the amount of the underlying judgment.

(c) 1. _The simplified turnover proceeding authorized by subdivision (b) of this section is
a special proceeding that shall receive the same index number as the underlying small claims
action but bear its own caption, which caption should indicate in bold print “SIMPLIFIED
TURNOVER PROCEEDING” and name the third party holder of assets as the respondent. The
simplified turnover proceeding is commenced by notice of petition and petition, which shall be

served in the same manner as the summons in the underlying small claims action. Upon

commencement of the simplified turnover proceeding, the court shall notify the judgment debtor

thereof by serving him or her, by first class mail, with a copy of the notice of petition and petition

on the judgment debtor by first class mail.

2. The notice of petition shall be in a form prescribed by the chief administrator of the
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courts and shall include all of the following information:

(A) the caption, as described above;

B) the date, time and location, including the address of the court, where the petition will

be heard:

(C) a statement to the respondent that the failure to appear may result in the entry of
Judgment against the respondent for an amount out of the assets held that may be used to satisfy

the underlying judgment;

D) a statement of notice to the judgment debtor that the merits of the underlying small

claims action may not be contested and that the judgment debtor may intervene in the simplified

turnover proceeding only for the purpose of disputing an interest in the assets at issue or to claim

that an exemption applies to the assets:

(E) a statement that any other person may intervene in the simplified turnover proceeding

solely for the purpose of claiming an interest in the assets at issue;

(F) a statement that if the respondent is aware of a potential claim to the assets by any

other person, the respondent shall provide notice of the simplified turnover proceeding to such

other person by first class mail.

3. The petition shall be in a form prescribed by the chief administrator and shall include

all of the following information:

(A) the caption, as described above:

(B) the name and address of the petitioner:

(C) the name and address of the respondent;

(D) the name and address of the judgment debtor:
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(E) the amount of the judgment;
(F) an explanation of how the petitioner is aware that relevant assets are being held by the

respondent;

(G) the date of the issuance of the execution, the name and address of the executing

officer and an indication of whether the assets are restrained:

(H) the total amount of relief requested.
(d) If, upon the appearance date indicated in the notice of petition, it is evident that the
assets at issue belong to the judgment debtor and the judgment debtor alone but are not being

released by the respondent, the court shall order the respondent to release from the assets held a

sum no greater than the amount of the underlying judement.

(e) If. upon the appearance date indicated in the notice of petition, it is evident that any

person other than the judgment debtor has claimed an interest in the assets at issue, the court
shall schedule a hearing of the matter no later than sixty days from the appearance date indicated
in the notice of petition. The court shall serve the non-judgment debtor, in the same manner as
was used to serve the summons in the underlying action, with a copy of the notice of petition and

petition, together with a notice of the hearing date. The notice of hearing date shall state that the

hearing is a special proceeding to determine claims to assets that are alleged to be jointly held

assets and that failure to appear at the hearing may result in a waiver of interest in the assets.

(f) At the hearing, the court shall hear evidence from all of the interested parties in order

to determine the amount of each party’s interest in the assets. If the judgment creditor is seeking
more than one-half of the assets, the judgment creditor must provide evidence that the judgment
debtor has a possessory interest in more than one half of the assets. During the course of the
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hearing, the court shall elicit the following information:

1. whether any people. other than those present and those who were served notice of the
hearing but are not present, may claim an interest in the assets; and

2. whether any people claiming a possessory interest in the assets have been or are
currently involved in bankruptcy proceedings: and

3. whether any levy, lien, execution or restraint has ever been placed on the assets as a
result of any action or proceeding other than the underlying small claims action; and

4. whether any exemptions apply to the assets such that they are not available for

collection.

(g) If, upon the hearing of evidence, the court is satisfied that all interested people were

served with notice of the hearing, none of the people claiming a possessory interest in the assets

is or has been involved in a bankruptcy proceeding. and no other levy, lien, execution or restraint

exists that would establish another person’s priority to the assets, the court shall determine the
possessory interest of each person claiming an interest in the assets. Out of the amount of assets
determined to be possessed by the judgment debtor, the court shall order the third party holder of

assets to release to the judgment creditor a sum no greater than the amount of the underlying

judgment.
(h) If, upon the hearing of evidence, the court determines that for any reason the adverse

claims are too complex to be dispensed with upon a simplified turnover proceeding, the court

shall dismiss the petition, with leave to the judgment creditor to bring a special proceeding to
enforce the judgment in the regular part of the court pursuant to article 52 of the civil practice

law and rules.
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§ 2. Paragraph 3 of subdivision (a) of section 5221 of the civil practice law and rules is
amended to read as follows:

3. If the judgment sought to be enforced was entered in the [municipal court of the city of
New York, the city court of the city of New York or the] civil court of the city of New York, and
the respondent resides or is regularly employed or has a place for the regular transaction of
business in person within that city, a special proceeding authorized by this article shall be

commenced in the civil court of the city of New York. If the judgment sought to be enforced was

entered in the small claims part of the civil court of the city of New York. a simplified turnover

proceeding may be brought as set forth in section 1812.1 of the New York city civil court act.

§ 3. This act shall take effect on the ninetieth day after it shall have become a law and
shall apply to all judgments entered on and after such effective date. This act shall expire
December 31, 2010.

Proposed Rule
§ 208.41 (o) Simplified Turnover Proceedings

(1) The notice of petition shall be in substantially the following form:

CIVIL COURT OF THE CITY OF NEW YORK CASE # (UNDERLYING CASE)
COUNTY OF
SIMPLIFIED TURNOVER PROCEEDING
SMALL CLAIMS PART NOTICE OF PETITION
Petitioner
VS.
Respondent
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To: (Respondent)

(Address)

You, as respondent in a small claims simplified turnover proceeding must appear in the
Small Claims Court as follows:

Date:

Time:

Location:

Address:

This simplified turnover proceeding has been initiated by (Petitioner) to recover

assets being held by you on behalf of (Judgment Debtor)

NOTICE TO RESPONDENT: Failure to appear as indicated above may result in the entry of a
judgment against you for an amount out of the assets held that may be used to satisfy the
underlying judgment. If you are aware of a potential claim to these assets by any other person,
you should notify the person of this simplified turnover proceeding by first class mail as soon as
possible.

NOTICE TO JUDGMENT DEBTOR: You may intervene in this simplified turnover
proceeding only for the purpose of disputing an interest in the assets at issue or for claiming that
an exemption applies to the assets. You may not contest the merits of the underlying judgment.

NOTICE: Any other person may intervene in this simplified turnover proceeding solely for the
purpose of claiming an interest in the assets at issue.

(Date) Chief Clerk

(2) The petition shall be in substantially the following form:

CIVIL COURT OF THE CITY OF NEW YORK CASE # (UNDERLYING CASE)
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COUNTY OF

SIMPLIFIED TURNOVER PROCEEDING

SMALL CLAIMS PART PETITION
Petitioner
Vs.
Respondent
The Petition of (Petitioner) alleges as follows:
1. Petitioner is the Judgment Creditor in the small claims matter captioned

, bearing the same

Index Number as set forth above.

2. A total judgment was entered in that case against (Judgment Debtor) (the

Judgment Debtor) in the amount of $ .

3. The following information indicates that assets belonging to the Judgment Debtor are
held by you:
4, An execution was issued on (date) and served upon you by

(a Sheriff/a City Marshal), (address of enforcement

officer) . (A restraining notice/a garnishment has also been
served.)

5. However, you have refused to turn over assets in your possession that belong to the
Judgment Debtor.
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6. Accordingly, Petitioner requests that a judgment be entered in this simplified turnover
proceeding against you, as the holder of assets belonging to the Judgment Debtor, in the

amount of:

$ the underlying judgment

TOTAL $ .

Date Petitioner

Petitioner’s Name & Address: Respondent’s Name & Address:

Judgment Debtor’s Name & Address:
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2. Venue of Enforcement Proceedings
(CPLR 5221)

This measure would amend CPLR 5221 to limit the venue of an enforcement proceeding
when the enforcement proceeding is based on an underlying consumer credit transaction.

In 1973, as part of the Governor’s Consumer Protection Program, CPLR 503 and New
York City Civil Court Act § 301(a) were amended to provide that suits arising out of consumer
credit transactions must be brought in either the county where the buyer resides or the county
where the purchase was made. The main purpose of the amendments was “to protect consumers
by limiting the places where a creditor can bring suit arising out of a consumer credit
transaction.” See Mem of State Executive Dept., 1973 McKinney’s Session Laws of NY, at
2171.

The amendments specifically changed a venue practice that previously had been
authorized under the Civil Court Act. That Act and the CPLR provisions that followed it had
permitted venue in plaintiff’s county. However, the 1973 amendments precluded the laying of
venue in the plaintiff’s county in connection with consumer credit transactions. See Siegel,
Practice Commentaries, McKinney’s Cons Laws of NY, Book 29A, Judiciary -- Court Acts,
NYCCCA § 301, at 98. These venue changes were significant, and the policy which led to the
enactment of CPLR 503(f) and the amendment of NYCCCA § 301 was not to be lightly
disregarded. See McLaughlin, Practice Commentaries, McKinney’s Cons Laws of NY, Book
7B, CPLR, at 19.

For the sake of consistency, it appears that this venue policy also should apply to the
enforcement of judgments obtained in connection with consumer credit transactions. It does not
make sense to protect the consumer’s venue interests with respect to the obtaining of the
underlying judgment, but then permit the creditor to seek enforcement in any county, which
would implicate the same travel burdens at issue in the underlying action.

However, CPLR 5221, the law governing the venue of enforcement proceedings was not
altered i 1973, leaving an apparent conflict between the venue provisions of the New York City
Civil Court Act and the CPLR and the enforcement provisions of the CPLR. CPLR 5221(a)(3)
provides that a judgment entered in the New York City Civil Court may be enforced within that
court as long as the respondent resides or is regularly employed or has a place for the regular
transaction of business in person within New York City. There is no restriction as to the county
within New York City, and legislative history indicates that this resulting broad scope of venue
was intentional.

A 1959 legislative report indicates that the former Civil Practice Act had provided a
narrow scope of venue for judgment proceedings -- a proceeding on a judgment of the Municipal
Court of the City of New York was required to be instituted in the court in the county where the
debtor lives or works. Subsequently, the CPLR created a broader scope of venue:
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Because of the ease of transportation within New York city, and in accordance with other
provisions of the CPLR, New York city is treated as a single unit, and a proceeding . . .
may be instituted in any county in the city of New York. See Legislative Studies and
Reports following CPLR 5221.

However, this decision with respect to the broad scope of venue pre-dated the significant
policy change with respect to consumer credit transactions. Since the provisions of the CPLR
have changed with respect to this subject area, the enforcement provisions probably should have
been amended to follow suit in 1973. This measure corrects that disparity.

Proposal

AN ACT to amend the civil practice law and rules, in relation to the venue of enforcement
proceedings based on underlying judgments obtained in actions involving consumer
credit transactions

The People of the State of New York, represented in Senate and Assembly, do enact as
follows:

Section 1. Paragraph 3 of subdivision (a) of section 5221 of the civil practice law and
rules is amended to read as follows:

3. If the judgment sought to be enforced was entered in the [municipal court of the city of
New York, the city court of the city of New York or the] civil court of the city of New York, and
the respondent resides or is regularly employed or has a place for the regular transaction of
business in person within that city, a special proceeding authorized by this article shall be

commenced in the civil court of the city of New York. If the underlying judgment was entered in

an action arising out of a consumer credit transaction where a purchaser, borrower, or debtor is a

defendant, and the defendant resides in the city of New York or the transaction took place in the

city of New York, then a special proceeding authorized by this article shall be commenced in the

county within the city of New York in which the judgment was entered.

§ 2. This act shall take effect on the ninetieth day after it shall have become a law and
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shall apply to all judgments entered on and after such effective date.
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3. Electronic Filing of Traffic Tickets
(CPL 1.20)

This measure would amend pertinent sections of the Criminal Procedure Law to clarify
procedural measures related to the Department of Motor Vehicles’ electronic traffic ticketing
program.

Currently, a pilot program has been commenced by the Department of Motor Vehicles,
which allows for electronic traffic ticketing. The program permits police officers to “write”
tickets on a computer and transfer the pertinent information directly to a court computer, in place
of filing a paper ticket. The traffic offender still receives a paper ticket, but the traffic court
conducts all of the pertinent business related to the ticket by computer.

These amendments help insure that, for this pilot program, there can be no technical
challenges to jurisdiction as a result of the commencement by electronic filing. The change to
the Criminal Procedure Law definition of “commencement of criminal action” would mirror the
1999 change that was made to CPLR 304 (regarding “method of commencing action or special
proceeding”) when the filing by electronic means pilot program was instituted in civil courts.
See 22 NYCRR § 202.5-b. The change to the reference to “written accusation” is meant to
clarify that a ticket may be considered “written” electronically, as long as the form of the ticket is
prescribed as an electronic format by the Commissioner of Motor Vehicles. This clarification is
desirable because, in the past, an appellate court examined the status of the law and found that
the transmission of electronic data to a court computer did not constitute filing, particularly in the
absence of a written, verified accusation. See People v. Gilberg, 166 Misc2d 772 (Sup Ct., App
Term, 2d Dept 1995); see also People v. Pilewski, 173 Misc2d 800 (Justice Ct., Village of Great
Neck 1997). However, the Gilberg case was decided based on the status of the law in 1995, and
its current inapplicability should be confirmed by the legislature.

The Uniform Rules for Courts Exercising Criminal Jurisdiction regarding the form of
papers filed in criminal court (22 NYCRR § 200.3) already reference CPLR 2101, which, as of
1999, refers to papers filed by electronic means. However, these statutory amendments will help
insure the success of the electronic ticketing program by clarifying the law in this regard.

Proposal

AN ACT to amend the criminal procedure law, in relation to permitting the electronic filing of
papers in local criminal courts, where authorized by law

The People of the State of New York, represented in Senate and Assembly, do enact as

follows:
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Section 1. Subdivision 5 of section 1.20 of the criminal procedure law, set out first, is
amended to read as follows:
5. “Simplified traffic information” means a written accusation, including an accusation

written in electronic form where authorized by law, more fully defined and described in article

one hundred, by a police officer, or otﬂer public servant authorized by law to issue same, filed
with a local criminal court, which, beinﬁg in a brief or simplified form prescribed by the
commissioner of motor vehicles, charges a person with one or more traffic infractions or
misdemeanors relating to traffic, and which may serve both to commence a criminal action for
such offense and as a basis for prosecution thereof.

§ 2. Paragraph (b) of subdivision 5 of section 1.20 of the criminal procedure law, set out
second, is amended to read as follows:

(b) “Simplified traffic information” means a written accusation, including an accusation

written in electronic form where authorized by law, by a police officer, or other public servant

authorized by law to issue same, more fully defined and described in article one hundred, filed
with a local criminal court, which, being in a brief or simplified form prescribed by the
commissioner of motor vehicles, charges a person with one or more traffic infractions or
misdemeanors relating to traffic, and which may serve both to commence a criminal action for
such offense and as a basis for prosecution thereof.

§ 3. Subdivision 17 of section 1.20 of the criminal procedure law is amended to read as
follows:

17. “Commencement of criminal action.” A criminal action is commenced by the filing,

including filing by electronic means where authorized by law, of an accusatory instrument
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against a defendant in a criminal court, and, if more than one accusatory instrument is filed in the
course of the action, it commences when the first of such instruments is filed.

§ 4. This act shall take effect immediately.
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4, Issuance of a Summons in the NYC Civil Court, District Courts, and
City Courts
(NYCCCA §§ 400, 409, and 411; UDCA §§ 400, 409, and 411; and,
UCCA §§ 400, 409, and 411)

This measure would require the filing of a summons, and therefore the purchase of an
index number, before serving the summons issued by the New York City Civil Court, the District
Courts and the City Courts.

The current procedure set forth in section 401(a) of the Uniform Court Acts permits an
attorney to serve a summons on a defendant prior to the purchase of an index number. Within a
certain number of days (14 in the NYC Civil Court, 20 in the District Courts, 20 in the City
Courts) after service and mailing (if necessary) of the summons, the plaintiff’s attorney must file
the original summons and affidavit of service with the court and, at that point, purchase an index
number. NYCCCA § 409; UDCA § 409; UCCA § 409; 22 NYCRR § 210.6(d). The defendant
then answers within a specified period either through an attorney or in person to the clerk.

A problem arises when the defendant answers in person to the clerk, but the summons
has not been filed. The clerk will accept the answer and periodically check filings to determine if
the summons has been filed. If the summons is filed, the case will be added to the calendar. If
the summons is not filed, the clerk may continue to search for a while. However, in the NYC
Civil Court, the clerk will place the answers that do not have matching summonses into storage
after a year. Eventually, the answers are discarded. Even with a computer management system,
this process is cumbersome. It also creates a danger that the clerk will miss the match, and a
filed summons will lead to a judgment entered against a defendant who thinks he or she has
complied with answering requirements.

The NYC Civil Court has noted a recent increase in the number of summonses served
but not filed. In Kings County, since the year 2000, there are at least 1200 answers without
matching summonses. Apparently, there are 271 answers connected to unfiled summonses that
were initiated by the office of a particular attorney.

Aside from the expenditure of time and resources, the current system causes a financial
toll. The clerks’ futile searches for filed summonses are expenditures of time for which there is
no revenue stream in return. If all of the “outstanding” summonses were filed in Kings County,
there would be revenue of $42,000 in filing fees. If the one law office filed its summonses, there
would be revenue of at least $9,485. A further concern is that the summonses are being served
but intentionally not filed in an effort to harass or frighten defendants.

Requiring that an index number be purchased before the service of papers would
generate revenue, conserve clerks’ time, and protect defendants from untoward use of the suit
commencement system. This procedure already is followed in the landlord-tenant part of the
NYC Civil Court, as well as in Supreme Court.
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This measure also would amend the Uniform Court Acts to establish that, in the NYC
Civil Court, the District Courts on Long Island and the 61 City Courts, the Statute of Limitations
is tolled as of the filing of the summons with the court. At present, the Statute is tolled as of the
moment of service of papers upon defendant. This change is proposed to conform practice in the
lower courts to that followed in Supreme and County Court. See CPLR 304.

Proposal

AN ACT to amend the New York city civil court act, the uniform district court act and the
uniform city court act, in relation to the method of commencing and filing a lawsuit

The People of the State of New York, represented in Senate and Assembly. do enact as

follows:

Section 1. Section 400 of the New York city civil court act, as added by chapter 216 of
the laws of 1992, 1s amended to read as follows:

§400. Method of commencing action or special proceeding. [Section three hundred
four of the civil practice law and rules shall not apply in this court.] 1. An action is commenced
in this court [and jurisdiction acquired] by [service of] filing a summons and complaint. A
special proceeding is commenced [and jurisdiction acquired] by [service of ] filing a notice of

petition and petition or order to show cause and petition. For purposes of this section, and for

purposes of section two hundred three of the civil practice law and rules, filing shall mean the
delivery of the summons and complaint or the notice of petition and petition to the clerk of the
court in the county in which the action or special proceeding is brought together with any fee
required by section nineteen hundred eleven of this act. At the time of filing, the original and a
copy of the papers shall be date stamped by the court clerk who shall file the original and
maintain a record of the filing and shall return the copy to the party who brought the filing.

2. Jurisdiction is acquired over a party to an action or special proceeding by service
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upon such party of a copy of the summons and complaint or the notice of petition and petition or

the order to show cause and petition.

§2. Section 409 of the New York city civil court act, as amended by chapter 698 of the
laws of 1976, is amended to read as follows:

§409. Summons; filing [with] proof of service. (a) [A copy of the summons with
proof] Proof of service of the summons shall be filed with the clerk of the court in the county in
which the action is brought|[:

1. within fourteen days after service within the city of New York, regardless of how or
upon whom it was served; or

2. within fourteen days after the day of last publication, where service has been made
by that means; or

3. within fourteen days after a receipt for registered mail has been returned, or ordinary
mail has been posted, where service by registered mail, or ordinary mail in the event registered
mail is refused, is provided by law or order of court; or

4. within fourteen days after service outside the city of New York].

(b) Proof of service shall be made by the certificate of the sheriff or marshall or by the
affidavit of the person by whom the service was made[, and such certificate or affidavit shall be
indorsed upon or annexed to the summons within fourteen days after service].

§3. Section 411 of the New York city civil court act is REPEALED.

§4. Section 400 of the uniform district court act, as added by chapter 216 of the laws
0f 1992, is amended to read as follows:

§400. Method of commencing action or special proceeding. 1. [Section three hundred

38



four of the civil practice law and rules shall not apply in this court.] An action is commenced in
this court [and jurisdiction acquired] by [service of] filing a summons and complaint. A special
proceeding is commenced [and jurisdiction acquired] by [service of ] filing a notice of petition

and petition or order to show cause and petition. For purposes of this section, and for purposes

of section two hundred three of the civil practice law and rules, filing shall mean the delivery of

the summons and complaint or the notice of petition and petition to the clerk of the court in the

district in which the action or special proceeding is brought together with any fee required by
section nineteen hundred eleven of this act. At the time of filing, the original and a copy of the
papers shall be date stamped by the court clerk who shall file the original and maintain a record
of the filing and shall return the copy to the party who brought the filing.

2. Jurisdiction is acquired over a party to an action or special proceeding by service
upon such party of a copy of the summons and complaint or the notice of petition and petition or

the order to show cause and petition.

§5. Section 409 of the uniform district court act, as amended by chapter 330 of the
laws of 1975, is amended to read as follows:

§409. Summons; filing [with] proof of service. (a) [A copy of the summons with

proof] Proof of service of the summons shall be filed with the clerk of the court in the district in

which the action is brought][:
1. within twenty days after service within the county, regardless of how or upon whom
it was served; or

2. within twenty days after the day of last publication, where service has been made by

that means; or
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3. within twenty days after a receipt for registered mail has been returned, or ordinary
mail has been posted, where service by registered mail, or ordinary mail in the event registered
mail is refused, is provided by law or order of court; or

4. within thirty days after service outside the county].

(b) Proof of service shall be made by the certificate of the enforcement officer or by the
affidavit of the person by whom the service was made, and such certificate or affidavit shall be
indorsed upon or annexed to the summons.

§6. Section 411 of the uniform district court act is REPEALED.

§7. Section 400 of the uniform city court act, as added by chapter 216 of the laws of
1992, is amended to read as follows:

§400. Method of commencing action or special proceeding. [Section three hundred
four of the civil practice law and rules shall not apply in this court.] 1. An action is commenced
in this court [and jurisdiction acquired] by [service of] filing a summons and complaint. A
special proceeding is commenced [and jurisdiction acquired] by [service of ] filing a notice of

petition and petition or order to show cause and petition. For purposes of this section, and for

purposes of section two hundred three of the civil practice law and rules, filing shall mean the
delivery of the summons and complaint or the notice of petition and petition to the clerk of the
court in which the action or special proceeding is brought together with any fee required by
section nineteen hundred eleven of this act. At the time of filing, the original and a copy of the

papers shall be date stamped by the court clerk who shall file the original and maintain a record

of the filing and shall return the copy to the party who brought the filing.
2. Jurisdiction is acquired over a party to an action or special proceeding by service
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upon such party of a copy of the summons and complaint or the notice of petition and petition or

the order to show cause and petition.

§8. Section 409 of the uniform city court act, as amended by chapter 216 of the laws of
1992, is amended to read as follows:

§409. Summons; filing[;] proof of service. (a) [The rules of the court shall require the
filing of the summons with the clerk in all cases or in designated categories of cases] Proof of
service of the summons shall be filed with the clerk of the court.

(b) If service has been made by the court’s enforcement officer, his or her certificate

shall be the equivalent of an affidavit of service.
§9. Section 411 of the uniform city court act is REPEALED.
§10. This act shall take effect ninety days after it shall have become a law and shall

apply to all actions and special proceedings commenced on or after such effective date.
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5. Increasing the Criminal Mischief Threshold Levels
(P §§ 145.05 and 145.10)

This measure seeks to increase the threshold level for the offenses of criminal mischief in
the third degree (a class E felony) and criminal mischief in the second degree (a class D felony).
Currently, a person is guilty of criminal mischief in the third degree when he or she damages
another person’s property in an amount exceeding $250. A person is guilty of criminal mischief
in the second degree when he or she damages another person’s property in an amount exceeding
$1,500. These monetary levels were last amended in 1971 and should be adjusted to reflect the
reality of current costs.

A helpful parallel can be drawn using the grand larceny threshold levels, which levels
were amended in 1986. Grand larceny in the fourth degree (a class E felony) occurs when the
value of the stolen property exceeds $1,000. Penal Law § 155.30. Grand larceny in the third
degree (a class D felony) occurs when the value of the property exceeds $3,000. Penal Law §
155.35.

Accordingly, the criminal mischief threshold levels should be amended to reflect similar
amounts. Criminal mischief in the third degree (the class E felony) should lie where the value of

the damage exceeds $1,000, and criminal mischief in the second degree (the class D felony)
should lie where the value of the damage exceeds $3,000.

Proposal

AN ACT to amend the penal law, in relation to criminal mischief in the second and third degrees

The People of the State of New York, represented in Senate and Assembly, do enact as

follows:

Section 1. Section 145.05 of the penal law, as amended by chapter 961 of the laws of
1971, is amended to read as follows:

§ 145.05. Criminal mischief in the third degree. A person is guilty of criminal mischief
in the third degree when, with intent to damage property of another person, and having no right
to do so nor any reasonable ground to believe that he or she has such right, he or she damages

property of another person in an amount exceeding [two hundred fifty] one thousand dollars.
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Criminal mischief in the third degree is a class E felony.

§ 2. Section 145.10 of the penal law, as amended by chapter 961 of the laws of 1971, is
amended to read as follows:

§ 145.10. Criminal mischief in the second degree. A person is guilty of criminal
mischief in the second degree when, with intent to damage property of another person, and
having no right to do so nor any reasonable ground to believe that he or she has such right, he or
she damages property of another person in an amount exceeding [one thousand five hundred]
three thousand dollars.

Criminal mischief in the second degree is a class D felony.

§ 3. This act shall take effect on the first day of November next succeeding the date on

which it shall have become a law.
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6. Permit Corporate Counterclaims in Small Claims Court
(NYCCCA § 1809, UCCA § 1809, UDCA § 1809, and UJCA § 1809)

Subdivision one of section 1809 of each of the Uniform Court Acts prohibits corporations
from bringing claims in a small claims court. Subdivision two of that section, however, does
permit a corporation to appear as a defendant in small claims court.

There is some uncertainty in New York as to whether a corporate defendant in an action
in a small claims court may bring a counterclaim in that action. The statute is unclear and the
only appellate caselaw addressing the issue is a 1997 decision of the Appellate Term, Second
Department. See Marino v. N.A.S. Plumbing, 175 Misc2d 519.

The Committee believes the issue should be clarified, and that section 1809(2) of the
Uniform Court Acts should be amended expressly to authorize corporate counterclaims in small
claims, under certain circumstances. As a defendant, a corporation should generally be no less
able to file a counterclaim in a small claims court than any class of small claims defendant. Such
a practice best serves the administration of justice and, within the limitations proposed in our
measure, should come at no meaningful cost to the objectives underlying small claims court.
These limitations, articulated by the Marino court in its decision upholding a corporate
counterclaim in a small claims action, are that the counterclaim fall within the small claims
court’s monetary jurisdiction, that it “[be] related to the main claim and [that it be] not overly
complex.”

Proposal

AN ACT to amend the New York city civil court act, the uniform district court act, the uniform
city court act, and the uniform justice court act, in relation to permitting a corporate
defendant to interpose a counterclaim in small claims court

The People of the State of New York, represented in Senate and Assembly, do enact as

follows:

Section 1. Subdivision 2 of section 1809 of the New York city civil court act, as added by
chapter 200 of the laws of 1976 and amended by chapter 157 of the laws of 1984, is amended to
read as follows:

2. A corporation may appear in the defense of any small claim action brought pursuant to

this article by an attorney as well as by any authorized officer, director or employee of the
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corporation provided that the appearance by a non-lawyer on behalf of a corporation shall be
deemed to constitute the requisite authority to bind the corporation in a settlement or trial. The
court or arbitrator may make reasonable inquiry to determine the authority of any person who

appears for the corporation in defense of a small claims court case. The corporation’s right to

defend against a small claim action includes the right to interpose a counterclaim in small claims

court, as long as the counterclaim falls within the court’s monetary jurisdiction, is related to the

main claim and is not overly complex.

§2. Subdivision 2 of section 1809 of the uniform district court act, as added by chapter
200 of the laws of 1976 and amended by chapter 157 of the laws of 1984, is amended to read as
follows:

2. A corporation may appear in the defense of any small claim action brought pursuant to
this article by an attorney as well as by any authorized officer, director or employee of the
corporation provided that the appearance by a non-lawyer on behalf of a corporation shall be
deemed to constitute the requisite authority to bind the corporation in a settlement or trial. The
court or arbitrator may make reasonable inquiry to determine the authority of any person who

appears for the corporation in defense of a small claims court case. The corporation’s right to

defend against a small claim action includes the right to interpose a counterclaim in small claims
court, as long as the counterclaim falls within the court’s monetary jurisdiction, is related to the

main claim and is not overly complex.

§3. Subdivision 2 of section 1809 of the uniform city court act, as added by chapter 200
of the laws of 1976 and amended by chapter 157 of the laws of 1984, is amended to read as

follows:
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2. A corporation may appear in the defense of any small claim action brought pursuant to
this article by an attorney as well as by any authorized officer, director or employee of the
corporation provided that the appearance by a non-lawyer on behalf of a corporation shall be
deemed to constitute the requisite authority to bind the corporation in a settlement or trial. The
court or arbitrator may make reasonable inquiry to determine the authority of any person who

appears for the corporation in defense of a small claims court case. The corporation’s right to

defend against a small claim action includes the right to interpose a counterclaim in small ¢laims

court, as long as the counterclaim falls within the court’s monetary jurisdiction, is related to the

main claim and is not overly complex.

§4. Subdivision 2 of section 1809 of the uniform justice court act, as added by chapter
200 of the laws of 1976 and amended by chapter 157 of the laws of 1984, is amended to read as
follows:

2. A corporation may appear in the defense of any small claim action brought pursuant
to this article by an attorney as well as by any authorized officer, director or employee of the
corporation provided that the appearance by a non-lawyer on behalf of a corporation shall be
deemed to constitute the requisite authority to bind the corporation in a settlement or trial. The
court or arbitrator may make reasonable inquiry to determine the authority of any person who

appears for the corporation in defense of a small claims court case. The corporation’s right to

defend against a small claim action includes the right to interpose a counterclaim in small claims

court, as long as the counterclaim falls within the court’s monetary jurisdiction, is related to the

main claim and is not overly complex.

§5. This act shall take effect on the first day of January next succeeding the date on
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which it becomes a law and shall apply to small claims brought on or after that date.
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7. Provide Local Criminal Courts With the Ability to Enforce Sentencing for the
Unlawful Possession of an Alcoholic Beverage by a Minor
(Alcoholic Beverage Control Law § 65-c)

This measure amends section 65-c of the Alcoholic Beverage Control Law to provide
courts with a mechanism to insure that the conditions of sentence are met for an offense of
unlawful possession of an alcoholic beverage with the intent to consume by persons under the
age of twenty-one years.

The proposal grants to the courts the power to enter a default judgment, upon notice and
an opportunity to be heard, against a person charged with unlawful possession of an alcoholic
beverage who has failed to pay a fine or complete an alcohol awareness program or complete
community service within the amount of time established by the court to do so. As a result of
this change, courts will be able to enforce their sentences for unlawful possession of an alcoholic
beverage. Without this ability, the courts are powerless to insure that the conditions of sentence
are met.

The proposal provides that the clerk of the court that had jurisdiction over the conviction
will file the default judgment with the county court. At the time of filing, the county clerk shall
enter the transcript of judgment without charging a fee until such time as the judgment is
satisfied. When the default judgment is collected, the filing costs will be added to the recovery
and be provided to the county clerk’s office.

Proposal
AN ACT to amend the alcoholic beverage control law, in relation to entry of default judgments

against persons under age twenty-one who fail to pay fines or complete an
alcohol awareness program or community service

The People of the State of New York, represented in Senate and Assembly. do enact as

follows:

Section 1. Subdivision 3 of section 65-c of the alcoholic beverage control law, as
amended by chapter 137 of the laws of 2003, is amended to read as follows:

3. Any person who unlawfully possesses an alcoholic beverage with intent to consume
may be summoned before and examined by a court having jurisdiction of that charge; provided,

however, that nothing contained herein shall authorize, or be construed to authorize, a peace
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officer as defined in subdivision thirty-three of section 1.20 of the criminal procedure law or a
police officer as defined in subdivision thirty-four of section 1.20 of such law to arrest a person
who unlawfully possesses an alcoholic beverage with intent to consume. If a determination is
made sustaining such charge the court may impose a fine not exceeding fifty dollars and/or
completion of an alcohol awareness program established pursuant to section 19.25 of the mental

hygiene law and/or an appropriate amount of community service not to exceed thirty hours. In

the event a person convicted of unlawful possession of an alcoholic beverage with intent to
consume fails to pay a fine within the period of time established by such court for payment of
such fine, the court having jurisdiction may enter a default judgment in the amount of the fine. In
the event a person convicted of unlawful possession of an alcoholic beverage with intent to
consume fails to complete an alcohol awareness program or complete community service
pursuant to this section within the period of time established by such court for the completion of
such program or community service, the court having jurisdiction may enter a default judgment
in the amount of a fine that would have been authorized by law upon the conviction. Prior to
entering any default judgment and at least thirty days after the expiration of the original date
established by such court for the payment of such fine or completion of such program or
community service, the clerk of the court shall notify the person charged by certified mail: (a) of
the impending default judgment in the amount of a fine determined by the court, which amount
must be authorized by the law governing the conviction, and which judgment will be filed with
the county clerk of the county in which the person convicted is located; (b) of a date, no less than
ten days and no more than thirty days from the date of the mailing of the notice, on which the
person convicted may be heard to contest such entry of a default judgment; (c) and that a default
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judgment may be avoided by paying the fine or completing the alcohol awareness program or

community service within thirty days of the sending of such notice or by appearing on the date

specified and making other arrangements with the court for the fulfillment of the sentence. In no

case shall a default judgment be entered more than two vears after the expiration of the time

prescribed for originally paying the fine or completing the alcohol awareness program or
community service. Any judgment entered pursuant to default shall be civil in nature. The clerk
of the court of jurisdiction over the conviction shall file the default judgment with the county
clerk, who shall enter a transcript of judgment without charging a fee until such time as the

default judgment is satisfied. The default judgment shall have the full force and effect of a

judement duly docketed in the office of such county clerk and may be enforced in the same

manner and with the same effect as that provided by law in respect to executions issued against
property upon judgments of a court of record and such default judgment shall remain in full force

and effect for eight years notwithstanding any other provision of law.

§2. This act shall take effect on the first day of January next succeeding the date on
which it shall become a law and shall apply to all actions and proceedings commenced on or after

such effective date.
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8. Notice of Small Claims and Commercial Claims Judgments and Time for
Satisfying a Small Claims Judgment
(NYCCCA §§ 1811-A, 1811-(b)(1) and 1812(a); UDCA §§ 1811-A, 1811(b)(1)
and 1812(a); UCCA §§ 1811-A, 1811(b)(1) and 1812(a); UCCCA §§ 1811-A,
1811(b)(1) and 1812(a); and, UICA §§ 1811(b)(1) and 1812(a))

This measure would amend section 1811-A of the New York City Civil Court Act, the
Uniform District Court Act and the Uniform City Court Act to require courts to send a notice of
judgment to the judgment creditor and to the judgment debtor in commercial claims actions. It
also would amend sections 1811(b)(1) and 1812(a) of the Uniform Court Acts to eliminate
language indicating that a judgment debtor has 30 days to pay a small claims judgment.

Pursuant to section 1811 of the New York City Civil Court Act and the Uniform City and
District Court Acts, the courts must send a notice of judgment to all small claims judgment
debtors and creditors. The notice to the judgment debtor must specify the consequences of
failing to pay the judgment. The notice to the judgment creditor must contain information about
the judgment creditor’s rights with respect to enforcement of the judgment. Finally, both parties
must be notified of the time for taking an appeal from a small claims judgment. In contrast, no
provision is made for notice to parties to commercial claims actions, leaving them ignorant of
their rights and responsibilities with respect to a commercial claims judgment. As a result,
commercial claims judgments may remain unpaid while one side determines the means for
enforcement and the other is unaware that good reason exists to pay the judgment sooner rather
than later. Moreover, the losing party may, through ignorance, forego the chance to appeal an
unjust decision.

There is no rationale for treating parties in small claims actions differently from parties in
commercial claims actions. Both should be informed of the rights or obligations that flow from
the judgments entered in these actions and should be advised of the time for taking an appeal
from those judgments.

This measure also would amend sections 1811(b)(1) and 1812(a) of the Uniform Court
Acts to eliminate language indicating that a judgment debtor has 30 days to pay a small claims
judgment. In 1991, section 1812(d) of the Uniform Court Acts was amended to eliminate the 30-
day delay before an information subpoena could be issued to aid a judgment creditor in enforcing
a small claims judgment. Sections 1811(b)(1) and 1812(a), however, were not amended to
eliminate language indicating that a judgment debtor has 30 days to pay a small claims judgment.
This measure would make these sections consistent.

Our Advisory Committee previously had proposed amending sections 1811 and 1812 of

the Uniform Court Acts to eliminate language indicating that a judgment debtor has 30 days to
pay a small claims judgment. That proposal now is included in this measure.
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Proposal

AN ACT to amend the New York city civil court act, the uniform city court act, the uniform
district court act, and the uniform justice court act, in relation to notice of small
claims and commercial claims judgments and time for satisfying small claims
judgments

The People of the State of New York, represented in Senate and Assembly, do enact as

follows:

Section 1. Paragraph 1 of subdivision (b) of section 1811 of the New York city civil
court act, as added by chapter 122 of the laws of 1987, is amended to read as follows:

1. the claimant’s right to payment [within thirty days following the debtor’s receipt of

the judgment notice] upon entry of judgment by the court clerk;

§2. Section 1811-A of the New York city civil court act, as amended by chapter 100 of

the laws of 1998, is amended to read as follows:

§1811-A. [Indexing] Notice of commercial claims part judgments and indexing

commercial claims part judgments. (a) Notice of judgment sent to a judgment debtor shall

specify that a failure to satisfy a judgment may subject the debtor to any one or a combination of

the following actions:

1. garnishment of wage;

2. garishment of bank account;

3. alien on personal property:

4. seizure and sale of real property:

5. seizure and sale of personal property, including automobiles;
6. suspension of motor vehicle license and registration, if the claim is based on
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defendant's ownership or operation of a motor vehicle:

7. revocation, suspension, or denial of renewal of any applicable business license or
permit;

8. investigation and prosecution by the attorney general for fraudulent or illegal

business practices.

(b) Notice of judgment sent to a judgment creditor shall contain but not be limited to

the following information:

1. the claimant’s right to payment upon entry of judgment by the court clerk;
2. the procedures for enforcement of commercial claims judgments as provided in

section eighteen hundred twelve-A of this article:

3. the claimant's right to initiate actions to recover the unpaid judgment through the

sale of the debtor's real property, or personal property:

4. the claimant's right to initiate actions to recover the unpaid judgment through
suspension of debtor's motor vehicle license and registration, if the claim is based on defendant's

ownership or operation of a motor vehicle:

5. the claimant's right to notify the appropriate state or local licensing or certifying

authority of an unsatisfied judgment as a basis for possible revocation, suspension. or denial of

renewal of a business license:

6. a statement that upon satisfying the judgment, the judgment debtor shall present

appropriate proof thereof to the court: and

7. the claimant's right to notify the attorney general if the debtor is a business and

appears to be engaged in fraudulent or illegal business practices.
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(c) Notice of judgment sent to each party shall include the following statement: “An

appeal from this judgment must be taken no later than the earliest of the following dates: (i) thirty
days after receipt in court of a copy of the judgment by the appealing party, (ii) thirty days after
personal delivery of a copy of the judgment by another party to the action to the appealing party

or by the appealing party to another party), or (iii) thirty-five days after the mailing of a copy of

the judgment to the appealing party by the clerk of the court or by another party to the action.”

(d) All wholly or partially unsatisfied commercial claims part judgments shall be
indexed alphabetically and chronologically under the name of the judgment debtor. Upon
satisfying the judgment, the judgment debtor shall present appropriate proof to the court and the
court shall indicate such in the records.

§3. Paragraph 1 of subdivision (b) of section 1811 of the uniform district court act, as
added by chapter 122 of the laws of 1987, is amended to read as follows:

1. the claimant’s right to payment [within thirty days following the debtor’s receipt of

the judgment notice] upon entry of judgment by the court clerk;

§4. Section 1811-A of the uniform district court act, as amended by chapter 100 of the
laws of 1998, is amended to read as follows:

§1811-A. [Indexing] Notice of commercial claims part judgments and indexing

commercial claims part judgments. (a) Notice of judgment sent to a judgment debtor shall

specify that a failure to satisfy a judgment may subject the debtor to any one or a combination of

the following actions:

1. garnishment of wage;

2. garnishment of bank account;
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3. alien on personal property:;

4. seizure and sale of real property:;

5. seizure and sale of personal property. including automobiles:

6. suspension of motor vehicle license and registration, if the claim is based on

defendant's ownership or operation of a motor vehicle:

7. revocation, suspension, or denial of renewal of any applicable business license or

8. investigation and prosecution by the attorney general for fraudulent or illegal

business practices.

b) Notice of judgment sent to a judgment creditor shall contain but not be limited to

the following information:

1. the claimant’s right to payment upon entry of judgment by the court clerk;

2. the procedures for enforcement of commercial claims judgments as provided in

section eighteen hundred twelve-A of this article:

3. the claimant's right to initiate actions to recover the unpaid judgment through the

sale of the debtor's real property. or personal property:

4. the claimant's right to initiate actions to recover the unpaid judgment through

suspension of debtor's motor vehicle license and registration. if the claim is based on defendant's

ownership or operation of a motor vehicle:

5. the claimant's right to notify the appropriate state or local licensing or certifying

authority of an unsatisfied judgment as a basis for possible revocation, suspension. or denial of

renewal of a business license;
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0. a statement that upon satisfying the judgment, the judgment debtor shall present

appropriate proof thereof to the court; and

7. the claimant's right to notify the attorney general if the debtor is a business and
appears to be engaged in fraudulent or illegal business practices.

(c) Notice of judgment sent to each party shall include the following statement: “An

appeal from this judgment must be taken no later than the earliest of the following dates: (i) thirty

days after receipt in court of a copy of the judgment by the appealing party, (ii) thirty days after

personal delivery of a copy of the judgment by another party to the action to the appealing party

or by the appealing party to another party), or (iii) thirty-five days after the mailing of a copy of

the judgment to the appealing party by the clerk of the court or by another party to the action.”

(d) All wholly or partially unsatisfied commercial claims part judgments shall be
indexed alphabetically and chronologically under the name of the judgment debtor. Upon
satisfying the judgment, the judgment debtor shall present appropriate proof to the court and the
court shall indicate such in the records.

§5. Paragraph 1 of subdivision (b) of section 1811 of the uniform city court act, as
added by chapter 122 of the laws of 1987, is amended to read as follows:

1. the claimant’s right to payment [within thirty days following the debtor’s receipt of
the judgment notice] upon entry of judgment by the court clerk;

§6. Section 1811-A of the uniform city court act, as amended by chapter 100 of the
laws of 1998, is amended to read as follows:

§1811-A. [Indexing] Notice of commercial claims part judgments and indexing

commercial claims part judgments. (a) Notice of judgment sent to a judgment debtor shall
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specify that a failure to satisfy a judgment may subject the debtor to any one or a combination of

the following actions:

1. gamishment of wage:

2. _garnishment of bank account;

3. alien on personal property:

4. seizure and sale of real property:

5. seizure and sale of personal property, including automobiles;

6. suspension of motor vehicle license and registration, if the claim is based on

defendant's ownership or operation of a motor vehicle:

7. revocation, suspension, or denial of renewal of any applicable business license or

8. investigation and prosecution by the attorney general for fraudulent or illegal

business practices.

b) Notice of judgment sent to a judgment creditor shall contain but not be limited to

the following information:

1. the claimant’s right to payment upon entry of judgment by the court clerk:

2. the procedures for enforcement of commercial claims judgments as provided in

section eighteen hundred twelve-A of this article:

3. the claimant's right to initiate actions to recover the unpaid judgment through the

sale of the debtor's real property. or personal property:

4. the claimant's right to initiate actions to recover the unpaid judement through

suspension of debtor's motor vehicle license and registration, if the claim is based on defendant's
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ownership or operation of a motor vehicle;

5. the claimant's right to notify the appropriate state or local licensing or certifying
authority of an unsatisfied judgment as a basis for possible revocation, suspension. or denial of

renewal of a business license;

6. a statement that upon satisfving the judgment. the judgment debtor shall present

appropriate proof thereof to the court; and

7. the claimant's right to notify the attorney general if the debtor is a business and

appears to be engaged in fraudulent or illegal business practices.

(c) Notice of judgment sent to each party shall include the following statement: “An
appeal from this judgment must be taken no later than the earliest of the following dates: (i) thirty
days after receipt in court of a copy of the judgment by the appealing party, (ii) thirty days after
personal delivery of a copy of the judgment by another party to the action to the appealing party

or by the appealing party to another party), or (iii) thirty-five days after the mailing of a copy of

the judgment to the appealing party by the clerk of the court or by another party to the action.”

(d) All wholly or partially unsatisfied commercial claims part judgments shall be
indexed alphabetically and chronologically under the name of the judgment debtor. Upon
satisfying the judgment, the judgment debtor shall present appropriate proof to the court and the
court shall indicate such in the records.

§7. Paragraph 1 of subdivision (b) of section 1811 of the uniform justice court act, as
added by chapter 122 of the laws of 1987, is amended to read as follows:

1. the claimant’s right to payment [within thirty days following the debtor’s receipt of

the judgment notice] upon entry of the judgment by the court clerk;
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§8. This act shall take effect on the ninetieth day after it shall have become a law and

shall apply to all notices of judgment sent on and after such effective date.
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9. Orders of Recognizance or Bail by a Local Criminal Court When an Action is
Pending Therein
(CPL 530.20)

This measure would amend section 530.20 of the Criminal Procedure Law to authorize a
local criminal court to set bail for a defendant charged with certain class E felonies without first
consulting with the District Attorney.

Under current law, a local criminal court cannot order recognizance or bail with respect to
a defendant charged with a felony without first consulting with the District Attorney and, except
in certain limited circumstances, obtaining a criminal history or prior arrest record for the
defendant.' In contrast, when a defendant is arrested without a warrant for committing the same
E felonies, a desk officer or other superior officer at a police station may fix pre-arraignment bail
and, if the bail is posted, serve the arrested person with an appearance ticket and release the
person from custody. Such officer is not required to consult with the District Attorney or to
obtain a criminal history or prior arrest record before fixing pre-arraignment bail.

With the authority supplied by this measure, a local criminal court can complete an
arraignment expeditiously. In addition, the court can make an informed and reasoned decision
about the propriety of releasing a defendant on bail after reviewing the defendant’s criminal
history or prior arrest record. No such review is required before a police official can release a
defendant on pre-arraignment bail.

Proposal

AN ACT to amend the criminal procedure law, in relation to orders of recognizance or bail by a
local criminal court when an action is pending therein

The People of the State of New York, represented in Senate and Assembly, do enact as

follows:
Section 1. Subparagraph (i) of paragraph (b) of subdivision 2 of section 530.20 of the
criminal procedure law is amended to read as follows:

(1) The district attorney has been heard in the matter or, after knowledge or notice of the

'Section 530.20(2)(a) prohibits a city, town or village court from ordering recognizance or bail when (i) the
defendant is charged with a class A felony, or (ii) it appears that the defendant has two previous felony convictions.
Section 530.20(2)(b) prohibits a local criminal court from ordering recognizance or bail without first affording the
District Attorney an opportunity to be heard and obtaining the defendant’s criminal history or prior arrest record.
The criminal history or prior arrest record, however, may be dispensed with under certain circumstances.
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application and reasonable opportunity to be heard, has failed to appear at the proceeding or has

otherwise waived his or her right to do so; provided however. this subparagraph shall not apply

when a defendant is charged with a class E felony other than a violation of section 130.25,

130.40, 205.10, 205.17, 205.19 or 215.56 of the penal law; and

§2. This act shall take effect on the ninetieth day after it shall have become a law and

shall apply to all orders of recognizance or bail made on or after such effective date.
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10. Removal of Certain Criminal Cases
(CPL 180.25)

This measure would add a new section 180.25 to the Criminal Procedure Law to allow a
superior court to remove a felony action from a local criminal court to expedite a defendant’s
plea to the felony charge.

Under current law, a criminal defendant charged in a local criminal court with the
commission of a felony may waive his or her right to a preliminary hearing. Upon such waiver,
the local criminal court must transfer the criminal action to the superior court. In many cases,
such a waiver is made by a defendant because he or she intends to plead guilty to the offense
charged. In such cases, the defendant must return to the local criminal court to waive the
preliminary hearing and then must appear in the superior court to waive indictment and plead
guilty to a superior court information. This measure would authorize a superior court judge to
remove a felony action from a local criminal court following a defendant’s arraignment, but prior
to the defendant’s waiver of a preliminary hearing, when the superior court finds that such
removal will promote the administration of justice. The superior court then would have the same
powers with respect to the disposition of the felony complaint as did the local criminal court
from which it was removed, including accepting the defendant’s waiver of a preliminary hearing.

This measure will allow speedy disposition of those felony cases in which the defendant
and the prosecutor have reached a plea bargain agreement, particularly when the defendant will
be referred to a specialized court such as a drug court or a domestic violence court immediately

following arraignment in a local criminal court. In addition, this new procedure will ensure the
most efficient use of resources in the local criminal courts.

Proposal

AN ACT to amend the criminal procedure law, in relation to removal of certain criminal cases
The People of the State of New York, represented in Senate and Assembly, do enact as
follows:
Section 1. The criminal procedure law is amended by adding a new section 180.25 to

read as follows:

§180.25. Proceedings upon felony complaint; removal of action from local criminal court

by superior court. Following defendant’s arraignment before a local criminal court upon a felony
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complaint, but prior to waiver by the defendant of a hearing upon such felony complaint, a
superior court of the county in which the local criminal court is located may order that the action
be removed to such superior court from such local criminal court provided it finds that such
removal will promote the administration of justice. Upon such removal, the superior court may
exercise all powers with respect to such felony complaint as might have been exercised by the
local criminal court from which it was removed, except that, where the defendant does not waive
a hearing upon the felony complaint. the superior court shall order that the action be removed

back to the local criminal court in which it was commenced for further proceedings in

accordance with this article.

§2. This act shall take effect immediately.
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11. Single Judge Trials in Certain Misdemeanor Cases
(CPL 340.40(2))

Section 340.40(2) of the Criminal Procedure Law now provides that a defendant charged
by information with a misdemeanor must be accorded a jury trial, except that, in the New York
City Criminal Court, a defendant must be accorded a single judge trial where the authorized term
of imprisonment for the charged misdemeanor is not more than six months.

First, this measure would extend the exception now applicable only in the New York City
Criminal Court to apply as well in the District Courts of Nassau and Suffolk Counties and in the
City Courts of Buffalo, Rochester, Syracuse and Yonkers. Thus, in these latter courts, trials of B
misdemeanors would be nonjury trials only -- as now is the case in the New York City Criminal
Court. Second, this measure would provide that where a criminal defendant is charged in any of
these courts with a misdemeanor punishable by a term of imprisonment of more than six months,
and the court, upon application of the People, declares on the record that if the defendant is
convicted after trial he or she will not be sentenced to a term of imprisonment of more than six
months, the trial of the information must be a single judge trial. The proposal further requires
that the court’s declaration be made “not later than forty-five days after defendant’s
arraignment.” The measure also makes corresponding amendments to Penal Law section 70.15
to preclude the imposition of a sentence of imprisonment of more than six months following a
single judge trial under CPL 340.40(2).

Last year, each judge sitting in the New York City Criminal Court handled, on average,
nearly 5,000 cases. In recent years, that Court has had a more than forty percent increase in its
filings. With calendars that large, and with no new influx of criminal court judges to handle its
growing caseload, the Court has been reduced to what some have called a “plea bargain mill,” a
system where the pressure of case volume, rather than the merits of a particular case, often
becomes the driving force. The accused, as well as the public in general, must know that the
system is capable of adjudicating each and every criminal case on its merits by providing a swift
and certain trial of criminal charges.

This measure would help to achieve this goal by enlarging misdemeanor trial capacity in
the New York City Criminal and the State’s other large local criminal courts. Under the
Constitution, a defendant’s right to a jury trial attaches only when charged with a crime for which
the maximum penalty is more than six months’ incarceration. See Baldwin v. New York, 399
U.S. 66 (1970). This measure would permit a Court, upon motion of the District Attorney, to
declare that, should there be a conviction on the misdemeanor charge after trial, the sentence will
be within this Constitutional six-month “ceiling,” thereby allowing the prosecution to proceed by
way of a single judge trial. This, in turn, will free up limited judicial and prosecutorial resources
for jury trials in cases where imposition of a sentence in excess of six months would be
warranted.
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Although to a somewhat lesser degree than in New York City, major local criminal courts
outside the City suffer for a want of misdemeanor trial capacity. The Legislature has
acknowledged this in the past and sought its correction. See L. 1984, c. 673 (enacting the
original misdemeanor trial law and applying it to Buffalo, Rochester, Syracuse and Yonkers
along with New York City). The instant measure recognizes that a problem yet remains, and
offers a cure modeled after the New York City approach.

Proposal

AN ACT to amend the criminal procedure law, in relation to trial in certain local criminal courts

The People of the State of New York, represented in Senate and Assembly, do enact as

follows:

Section 1. Subdivision 2 of section 340.40 of the criminal procedure law, as amended
by chapter 673 of the laws of 1984, is amended to read as follows:

2. In any local criminal court a defendant who has entered a plea of not guilty to an
information which charges a misdemeanor must be accorded a jury trial, conducted pursuant to

article three hundred sixty, except that in the New York city criminal court, in the district courts

and in the local criminal courts of those cities with a population of one hundred fifty thousand or

more each of the following must be a single judge trial:

(a) the trial of an information which charges a misdemeanor for which the authorized

term of imprisonment is not more than six months [must be a single judge trial.]; and

(b) the trial of an information which charges a misdemeanor for which the authorized
term of imprisonment is more than six months where, on request of the people, the court, not

later than forty-five days after defendant’s arraignment, declares on the record its commitment

that, should defendant be convicted after trial, he or she will not be sentenced to a term of

imprisonment of more than six months.

65



The defendant may at any time before trial waive a jury trial in the manner prescribed in
subdivision two of section 320.10, and consent to a single judge trial.

§2. Subdivisions 1 and 3 of section 70.15 of the penal law, subdivision 1 as amended by
chapter 291 of the laws of 1993, are amended to read as follows:

1. Class A misdemeanor. A sentence of imprisonment for a class A misdemeanor shall
be a definite sentence. When such a sentence is imposed the term shall be fixed by the court, and
shall not exceed one year; provided, however, that a sentence of imprisonment imposed upon a
conviction of criminal possession of a weapon in the fourth degree as defined in subdivision one
of section 265.01 must be for a period of no less than one year when the conviction was the result
of a plea of guilty entered in satisfaction of an indictment or any count thereof charging the
defendant with the class D violent felony offense of criminal possession of a weapon in the third
degree as defined in subdivision four of section 265.02, except that the court may impose any
other sentence authorized by law upon a person who has not been previously convicted in the
five years immediately preceding the commission of the offense for a felony or a class A
misdemeanor defined in this chapter, if the court having regard to the nature and circumstances
of the crime and to the history and character of the defendant, finds on the record that such
sentence would be unduly harsh and that the alternative sentence would be consistent with public

safety and does not deprecate the seriousness of the crime. Notwithstanding the foregoing, where

the defendant is convicted of a class A misdemeanor following a single judge trial in a local
criminal court as required by paragraph (b) of subdivision two of section 340.40 of the criminal

procedure law, he or she may not be sentenced thereon to a term of imprisonment exceeding six

months.
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3. Unclassified misdemeanor. A sentence of imprisonment for an unclassified
misdemeanor shall be a definite sentence. When such a sentence is imposed the term shall be
fixed by the court, and, except as otherwise provided herein, shall be in accordance with the

sentence specified in the law or ordinance that defines the crime. Where a defendant is convicted

in a local criminal court of an unclassified misdemeanor that, under the law or ordinance that

defines the crime, is punishable by a term of imprisonment in excess of six months, following a
single judge trial as required by paragraph (b) of subdivision two of section 340.40 of the
criminal procedure law, he or she may not be sentenced thereon to a term of imprisonment

exceeding six months.

§3. This act shall take effect on the first day of November next succeeding the date on
which it shall have become a law and shall apply to all actions and proceedings commenced on
or after such effective date; provided, however, this act shall expire on the first day of November
in the third year next succeeding such effective date at which time the provisions of law amended

by this act shall be those existing without such amendments.
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12.  Notice Required to Obtain a Default Judgment for Failure to Answer an Accusatory
Instrument Charging a Traffic Infraction
(VTL § 1806-a)

This measure would amend section 1806-a of the Vehicle and Traffic Law to authorize a
court to use regular first class mail to notify a defendant who fails to answer a notice of
appearance, a summons or some other notice of violation charging the defendant with a traffic
infraction involving parking, stopping, or standing.

Section 1806-a authorizes courts having jurisdiction of traffic infractions to enter a
default judgment against a defendant who fails to answer the accusatory instrument charging the
offense. Before doing so, however, the court must give the defendant 30 days’ notice of the
impending default judgment by certified mail. This measure amends section 1806-a to allow
such notice to be given by regular first class mail when a defendant fails to answer a charge
involving parking, stopping or standing offenses and certain conditions are met. Specifically, the
defendant must have been served personally with an appearance ticket, a summons or some other
notice of violation and with notice that if the defendant fails to answer the charge, the court may
enter a plea of guilty on the defendant’s behalf and impose a fine that is authorized by law. With
respect to parking, stopping or standing offenses, personal service would include posting the
notice or summons by affixing it to a conspicuous place on the motor vehicle involved. Proof of
such personal service must be filed with the court. This notice procedure is consistent with that
set forth in CPLR 3215 for default judgments entered in civil cases.

Enactment of this measure will greatly reduce mailing costs incurred by courts that handle
a large number of parking, stopping or standing offenses.

Proposal

AN ACT to amend the vehicle and traffic law, in relation to default judgment for failure to
answer an accusatory instrument charging a traffic infraction

The People of the State of New York. represented in Senate and Assembly, do enact as

follows:

Section 1. Subdivision 1 of section 1806-a of the vehicle and traffic law is amended to
read as follows:

1. (a) In the event a person charged with a traffic infraction does not answer within the

time specified, the court having jurisdiction, other than a court in a city having a population of
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over one million [population] may, in addition to any other action authorized by law, enter a plea
of guilty on behalf of the defendant and render a default judgment of a fine determined by the
court within the amount authorized by law. Any judgment entered pursuant to default shall be
civil in nature, but shall be treated as a conviction for the purposes of this section. However, at
least thirty days after the expiration of the original date prescribed for entering a plea and before
a plea of guilty and a default judgment may be rendered, the traffic violations bureau or, if there

be none, the clerk of the court, shall notify the defendant by certified mail at defendant’s last

known place of residence: [(a)] (i) of the violation charged; [(b)] (ii) of the impending plea of
guilty and default judgment; [(c)] (iii) that such judgment will be filed with the county clerk of
the county in which the operator or registrant is located[,]; and [(d)] (iv) that a default or plea of
guilty may be avoided by entering a plea or making an appearance within thirty days of the
sending of such notice. Pleas entered within that period shall be in a manner prescribed in the
notice.

(b) Notwithstanding any provision of paragraph (a) of this subdivision, where defendant

1s charged with a traffic infraction involving parking. stopping or standing under this chapter or

under an ordinance, rule or regulation adopted pursuant to this chapter, the notice required by
paragraph (a) may be sent by regular first class mail to defendant’s last known place of residence,
provided: (i) the defendant was served, either by personal delivery to him or her or by affixation

upon the motor vehicle involved, with an appearance ticket, a summons or other notice of the

violation describing the traffic infraction charged. together with written notice that in the event
the defendant does not appear and answer the charge within the time specified in such
appearance ticket, summons or other notice of the violation, the court will enter a plea of guilty
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on behalf of the defendant and render a default judgment of a fine determined by the court within

the amount authorized by law: and (ii) proof of service thereof, in a form prescribed by section

three hundred six of the civil practice law and rules, is filed with the court.

(c) In no case shall a default judgment and plea of guilty pursuant to this section be
rendered more than two years after the expiration of the time prescribed for originally entering a
plea. When a person has entered a plea of not guilty and has demanded a hearing, no fine or
penalty shall be imposed for any reason, prior to the holding of the hearing which shall be
scheduled by the court of such city, village or town within thirty days of such demand.

§2. This act shall take effect thirty days after it becomes a law and shall apply to all

traffic infractions committed on or after such effective date.
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13. Guilty Pleas to Superior Court Informations in Local Criminal Courts
Following Waiver of Indictment
(CPL 10.20(1)(a), 10.30(1), and 195.30)

Under current law, a criminal defendant who is charged in a local criminal court with
commission of a felony may opt to waive indictment and consent to be prosecuted by a superior
court information. The latter is a written accusation by the district attorney that charges the
defendant with commission of one or more crimes.

While a defendant may be tried on a superior court information, more often it is the case
that defendants consent to prosecution thereby as part of a plea agreement. That is, a defendant
who is charged by felony complaint with commission of a serious felony agrees to plead guilty to
a lesser felony before the matter can be brought before the grand jury and the defendant is
indicted. Under these circumstances, defendant waives prosecution by indictment, consents to
prosecution on the agreed-upon charge by superior court information filed with a superior court,
and appears before a superior court judge for purposes of formally entering the plea and being
sentenced.

To economize in the use of resources, in New York City the courts have established
special parts (referred to as “SCI” Parts) in which New York City Criminal Court Judges sit first
as local criminal court judges, to preside over preliminary proceedings involving felony charges
against a defendant, and then as Acting Supreme Court Justices, to take guilty pleas to superior
court informations following defendants’ waivers of indictment. Similarly, District Courts in
Suffolk County have special parts for the same purpose, in which District Court Judges sit first as
local criminal court judges and then as Acting County Court Judges. In both courts, while the
Justices and Judges are sitting in their “acting” capacities, their courts technically become
superior courts, which necessitates a variety of costly administrative steps (including introduction
of additional court personnel during the proceedings, and use of regularly-designated Acting
Justices of the Supreme Court and Acting County Court Judges -- Justices and Judges who, but
for such assignments, could otherwise be presiding over jury trials in more serious cases).

City Courts outside New York City do not operate special parts for handling felony
charges. Rather, if a defendant charged with a felony waives prosecution by indictment and
consents to prosecution by a superior court information for the purpose of entering a plea to a
reduced felony charge, the case then must be sent to the County Court for disposition. This is
because, until recently, City Court judges could not be assigned to superior courts. Now, because
of the voters’ recent approval of a constitutional amendment permitting certain City Court judges
to sit temporarily on County Court, that disability no longer exists.

The steps that must be taken in each of these courts can be saved by some simple
amendments to the Criminal Procedure Law. At the present time, that statute requires that a
superior court information be filed with a superior court, which means with either Supreme Court
or County Court. By amendment to sections 10.20 and 10.30, and provisions of Articles 195 and
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200, the statute can authorize the filing of a superior court information in New York City’s local
criminal court (i.e., the NYC Criminal Court), District Courts and City Courts, and permit those
courts to accept a plea to that instrument (and sentence defendant thereon)’. By doing this, it
would be possible to have regular Criminal Court Judges preside over the SCI Parts in the New
York City Criminal Court, rather than Acting Justices of the Supreme Court, and to have regular
District Court Judges preside over special felony parts rather than Acting County Court Judges.
And, felony cases begun in City Courts can be disposed without involving County Courts. This
is a better use of judicial resources, and it spares the State the costs of converting local criminal
courts into superior courts, and transferring cases to superior courts, to avoid an artificial and
unjustifiable jurisdictional obstacle. This is the purpose of this measure.

Proposal

AN ACT to amend the criminal procedure law, in relation to superior court informations

The People of the State of New York, represented in Senate and Assembly, do enact as

follows:

Section 1. Paragraph (a) of subdivision 1 of section 10.20 of the criminal procedure law
1s amended to read as follows:

(a) [Exclusive] Except as otherwise provided in subdivision one of section 10.30,
exclusive trial jurisdiction of felonies; and

§2. Subdivision 1 of section 10.30 of the criminal procedure law is amended to read as
follows:

1. Local criminal courts have trial jurisdiction of all offenses other than felonies. They

have:

2Permitting a local criminal court to receive defendant’s plea to a felony and to impose sentence does not
violate the Constitution. Section 7 of Article 6 provides that “[i]n the city of New York, [Supreme Court] shall have
exclusive jurisdiction over crimes prosecuted by indictment . . .” (emphasis supplied). It does not, however, give
Supreme Court a similar corner on crimes prosecuted by information. At the same time, section 15(c) of Article 6
gives the NYC Criminal Court “jurisdiction over crimes and other violations of law, other than those prosecuted by
indictment, . . .” (emphasis supplied); and Sections 16(d) and 17(a) give the District Court and upstate City Courts,
respectively, such jurisdiction as the Legislature provides (so long as it is not greater than that of the New York City
Civil and Criminal Courts).
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(a) Exclusive trial jurisdiction of petty offenses except for the superior court jurisdiction
thereof prescribed in paragraph (c) of subdivision one of section 10.20; and
(b) Trial jurisdiction of misdemeanors concurrent with that of the superior courts but

subject to divestiture thereof by the latter in any particular case.

Notwithstanding the foregoing, the New York city criminal court, a district court and a city court

have jurisdiction to accept a plea of guilty to a superior court information filed therein and to

sentence defendant thereon, as provided in subdivision two of section 195.40.

§3. Section 195.30 of the criminal procedure law, as added by chapter 467 of the laws of
1974, is amended to read as follows:

§195.30. Waiver of indictment; approval of waiver by the court. The court shall
determine whether the waiver of indictment complies with the provisions of sections 195.10 and
195.20. If satisfied that the waiver complies with such provisions, the court shall approve the
waiver and execute a written order to that effect. When the waiver is approved by a local
criminal court, the local criminal court shall promptly transmit to the appropriate superior court
the written waiver and order approving the waiver, along with all other documents pertinent to

the action unless the defendant has consented to enter a plea of guilty to a superior court

information to be filed in the New York city criminal court, a district court, or a city court, as

provided in subdivision two of section 195.40. Until such papers are received by the superior
court, the action is deemed to be pending in the local criminal court.

§4. Section 195.40 of the criminal procedure law, as added by chapter 467 of the laws of
1974, is amended to read as follows:

§195.40. Waiver of indictment; filing of superior court information. 1. When
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indictment is waived in a superior court the district attorney shall file a superior court
information in such court at the time the waiver is executed. When indictment is waived in a
local criminal court the district attorney shall file a superior court information in the appropriate
superior court within ten days of the execution of the court order approving the waiver. Upon
application of a defendant whose waiver of indictment has been approved by the court, and who,
at the time of such approval or subsequent thereto, has been committed to the custody of the
sheriff pending disposition of the action, and who has been confined in such custody for a period
of more than ten days from the date of approval without the filing by the district attorney of a
superior court information, the superior court must release [him] such defendant on his or her
own recognizance unless:

(a) The failure of the district attorney to file a superior court information during such
period of confinement was due to defendant's request, action or condition or occurred with his or
her consent; or

(b) The people have shown good cause why such order of release should not be issued.
Such good cause must consist of some compelling fact or circumstance which precluded the
filing of the superior court information within the prescribed period.

2. Notwithstanding the provisions of subdivision one of this section, when a defendant

waives indictment in the New York city criminal court, a district court or a city court, the district

attorney may file a superior court information in such court. In such event, the criminal court

shall have the same jurisdiction to accept a plea of guilty thereto and to sentence defendant

thereon as a superior court.

§5. Section 200.15 of the criminal procedure law, as added by chapter 467 of the laws of
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1974, is amended to read as follows:

§200.15. Superior court information; definition. A superior court information is a
written accusation by a district attorney filed in a [superior] court pursuant to article one hundred
ninety-five, charging a person, or two or more persons jointly, with the commission of a crime, or
with the commission of two or more offenses, at least one of which is a crime. A superior court
information may include any offense for which the defendant was held for action of a grand jury
and any offense or offenses properly joinable therewith pursuant to sections 200.20 and 200.40,
but shall not include an offense not named in the written waiver of indictment executed pursuant
to section 195.20. A superior court information has the same force and effect as an indictment
and all procedures and provisions of law applicable to indictments are also applicable to superior
court informations, except where otherwise expressly provided.

§6. This act shall take effect on the first day of November next succeeding the date on

which it shall have become a law.

75



14. Supporting Depositions for Defendants Charged by Simplified Information
with a Misdemeanor
(CPL 100.20 and 100.25)

This measure would amend sections 100.20 and 100.25 of the Criminal Procedure Law to
entitle a defendant charged by simplified information with a misdemeanor to a supporting
deposition that contains non-hearsay allegations which establish, if true, every element of the
offense charged and the defendant’s commission thereof.

A simplified information is a short form accusatory instrument created for use by law
enforcement personnel to streamline the process of charging persons with traffic infractions,
misdemeanors relating to traffic and non-felony offenses defined in the Environmental
Conservation Law and the Parks, Recreation and Historic Preservation Law. Unless a defendant
requests a supporting deposition pursuant to section 100.25 of the CPL, a simplified information
is legally sufficient and can serve as the basis for prosecution of the charge contained therein,
without any supporting factual allegations. And, even if a defendant requests a supporting
deposition, it need only contain allegations of fact based only upon the information and belief of
the complainant police officer or public servant. A defendant charged by simplified information
with a misdemeanor, therefore, can be prosecuted based solely on hearsay allegations. In
contrast, a defendant charged by “long form” information with a misdemeanor is entitled to an
accusatory instrument that includes allegations of fact that provide reasonable cause to believe
that the defendant committed the offense charged in the accusatory part of the information and
non-hearsay allegations that establish, if true, every element of the offense charged and the
defendant’s commission thereof. See CPL 100.40(b) and (c). A “long form” information that
does not contain such allegations of fact is subject to dismissal as defective pursuant to sections
170.30 and 170.35 of the CPL.

Under the present statutory scheme, two defendants who are charged with the same
misdemeanor offense are entitled to different procedural safeguards depending on the type of
accusatory instrument used to charge the offense. This distinction exists even though both
defendants are subject to the same sentencing provisions and both, upon conviction, are guilty of
a crime. This measure will ensure that all such defendants are afforded the same supporting
deposition prior to trial.

Proposal

AN ACT to amend the criminal procedure law, in relation to a defendant’s right to a supporting
deposition

The People of the State of New York, represented in Senate and Assembly, do enact as

follows:
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Section 1. Section 100.20 of the criminal procedure law, as amended by chapter 661 of
the laws of 1972, is amended to read as follows:

§100.20. Supporting deposition; definition, form and content. [A] Except as otherwise

provided in section 100.25, a supporting deposition is a written instrument accompanying or filed
in connection with an information, a simplified information, a misdemeanor complaint or a
felony complaint, subscribed and verified by a person other than the complainant of such
accusatory instrument, and containing factual allegations of an evidentiary character, based either
upon personal knowledge or upon information and belief, which supplement those of the
accusatory instrument and support or tend to support the charge or charges contained therein.

§2. Subdivision 2 of section 100.25 of the criminal procedure law, as amended by
chapter 67 of the laws of 1996, is amended to read as follows:

2. A defendant charged by a simplified information is, upon a timely request, entitled as
a matter of right to have filed with the court and served upon him or her, or if [he] the defendant
is represented by an attorney, upon his or her attorney, a supporting deposition of the
complainant police officer or public servant, containing allegations of fact, based either upon
personal knowledge or upon information and belief, providing reasonable cause to believe that

the defendant committed the offense or offenses charged. A defendant charged by simplified

mformation with a misdemeanor is, upon a timely request, entitled as a matter of right to have
filed with the court and served upon him or her, or if the defendant is represented by an attorney,
upon his or her attorney, one or more supporting depositions by the complainant police officer or
public servant and/or by a person other than the complainant police officer or public servant,

containing allegations of fact, based either upon personal knowledge or upon information and
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belief, providing reasonable cause to believe that the defendant committed the offense charged
and containing non-hearsay allegations which establish, if true, every element of the offense
charged and the defendant’s commission thereof. To be timely, such a request must, except as
otherwise provided herein and in subdivision three of this section, be made before entry of a plea
of guilty to the charge specified and before commencement of a trial thereon, but not later than
thirty days after the date the defendant is directed to appear in court as such date appears upon
the simplified information and upon the appearance ticket issued pursuant thereto. If the
defendant’s request is mailed to the court, the request must be mailed within such thirty day
period. Upon such a request, the court must order the complainant police officer or public
servant to serve a copy of such supporting deposition upon the defendant or [his] the defendant’s
attorney, within thirty days of the date such request is received by the court, or at least five days
before trial, whichever is earlier, and to file such supporting deposition with the court together
with proof of service thereof. Notwithstanding any provision to the contrary, where a defendant
is issued an appearance ticket in conjunction with the offense charged in the simplified
information and the appearance ticket fails to conform with the requirements of subdivision two
of section 150.10, a request is timely when made not later than thirty days after (a) entry of the
defendant’s plea of not guilty when he or she has been arraigned in person, or (b) written notice
to the defendant of his or her right to receive a supporting deposition when a plea of not guilty
has been submitted by mail.

§3. This act shall take effect on the thirtieth day next succeeding the date on which it

shall have become a law.
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15. Entry of Default Judgments by a Traffic and Parking Violations Agency
(VTL § 1806-a(4))

This measure would amend subdivision 4 of section 1806-a of the Vehicle and Traffic
Law to authorize a traffic and parking violations agency to enter default judgments for failure to
answer a traffic infraction as well as a parking violation.

Subdivision 4 currently authorizes a traffic and parking violations agency to enter a
default judgment when a person charged with a parking violation fails to answer within the time
specified. This measure would expand the authority of such an agency also to allow entry of a
default judgment when a person charged with a traffic infraction fails to answer within the time
specified.

The Nassau County Traffic and Parking Violations Agency was created to assist the
Nassau County District Court in the disposition and administration of certain infractions of
traffic and parking laws, ordinances, rules and regulations. The assistance rendered by the
agency includes issuing default judgments when defendants fail to appear. To limit the agency’s
authority to issue default judgments to only one class of cases over which it has jurisdiction is
inconsistent with its purpose and renders it unable to dispose of more serious offenses.

Proposal

AN ACT to amend the vehicle and traffic law, in relation to entry of default judgments by a
traffic and parking violations agency

The People of the State of New York, represented in Senate and Assembly. do enact

as follows:
Section 1. Subdivision 4 of section 1806-a of the vehicle and traffic law, as added by
chapter 496 of the laws of 1990, is amended to read as follows:

4. In the event a person charged with a traffic infraction or a parking violation does not

answer within the time specified, a traffic and parking violations agency may, in addition to any
other action authorized by law, enter a plea of guilty on behalf of the defendant and render a
default judgment of a fine determined by the judicial hearing officer within the amount

authorized by law. Any judgment entered pursuant to default shall be civil in nature, but shall be
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treated as a conviction for the purposes of this section. However, at least thirty days after the
expiration of the original date prescribed for entering a plea and before a plea of guilty and a
default judgment may be rendered, the traffic and parking violations agency shall notify the
defendant by certified mail: (a) of the violation charged; (b) of the impending plea of guilty and
default judgment; (c) that such judgment will be filed with the county clerk of the county in
which the operator or registrant is located, and (d) that a default or plea of guilty may be avoided
by entering a plea or making an appearance within thirty days of the sending of such notice.
Pleas entered within that period shall be in a manner prescribed in the notice. In no case shall a
default judgment and plea of guilty be rendered more than two years after the expiration of the
time prescribed for originally entering a plea. When a person has entered a plea of not guilty and
has demanded a hearing, no fine or penalty shall be imposed for any reason, prior to the holding
of the hearing which shall be scheduled by the traffic and parking violations agency within thirty
days of such demand.

§2. This act shall take effect immediately.
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16.  Filing Fees for Commencing Commercial Claims
(NYCCCA § 1803-A(a) and (b); UCCA § 1803-A(a) and (b);
and, UDCCA § 1803-A(a) and (b))

This measure would amend section 1803-A of the New York City Civil Court Act, the
Uniform City Court Act, and the Uniform District Court Act to make it consistent with the filing
fee provisions for regular small claims by creating a two-tiered filing fee based on the amount of
the claim and by eliminating the requirement that a claimant pay the cost of mailings when
commencing a commercial claim.

Upon enactment of chapter 309 of the Laws of 1996, the provisions of the uniform court
acts governing filings of small claims were amended to increase the filing fees and to delete
language requiring individuals filing small claims to pay the costs of mailing a notice of small
claim. Through inadvertence, the parallel provisions governing filings of commercial claims
were not also amended. This measure, therefore, in keeping with the intent to make uniform the
practice and procedures in local courts, would conform the statutory provisions governing
commercial claims with those governing small claims.

Proposal

AN ACT to amend the New York city civil court act, the uniform city court act and the uniform
district court act, in relation to commencing a commercial claim

The People of the State of New York. represented in Senate and Assembly. do enact as

follows:
Section 1. The first unnumbered paragraph of subdivision (a) of section 1803-A of the

New York city civil court act, as amended by chapter 90 of the laws of 1996, is amended to read

as follows:
Commercial claims other than claims arising out of consumer transactions shall be
commenced upon the payment by the claimant of a filing fee of twenty dollars [and the cost of

mailings as herein provided] for claims in the amount of one thousand dollars or less and twenty-

five dollars for claims in the amount of more than one thousand dollars, without the service of a

summons and, except by special order of the court, without the service of any pleading other than
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a required certification verified as to its truthfulness by the claimant on a form prescribed by the
state office of court administration and filed with the clerk, that no more than five such actions or
proceedings (including the instant action or proceeding) have been instituted during that calendar
month, and a required statement of its cause of action by the claimant or someone in its behalf to
the clerk, who shall reduce the same to a concise, written form and record it in a docket kept
especially for such purpose. Such procedure shall provide that the commercial claims part of the
court shall have no jurisdiction over, and shall dismiss, any case with respect to which the
required certification is not made upon the attempted institution of the action or proceeding.
Such procedure shall provide for the sending of notice of such claim by ordinary first class mail
and certified mail with return receipt requested to the party complained against at his or her

residence, if he or she resides within the city of New York, and his or her residence is known to

the claimant, or at his or her office or place of regular employment within the city of New York if
he or she does not reside therein or his or her residence within the city of New York is not known
to the claimant. If, after the expiration of twenty-one days, such ordinary first class mailing has
not been returned as undeliverable, the party complained against shall be presumed to have
received notice of such claim. Such notice shall include a clear description of the procedure for
filing a counterclaim pursuant to subdivision (d) of this section.

§2. The first unnumbered paragraph of subdivision (b) of section 1803-A of the New
York city civil court act, as amended by chapter 347 of the laws of 1995, is amended to read as
follows:

Commercial claims in actions arising out of consumer transactions shall be commenced

upon the payment by the claimant of a filing fee of twenty dollars [and the cost of mailings as

82



herein provided] for claims in the amount of one thousand dollars or less and twenty-five dollars
for claims in the amount of more than one thousand dollars, without the service of a summons
and, except by special order of the court, without the service of any pleading other than a
required statement of the cause of action by the claimant or someone on its behalf [of] to the
clerk, who shall reduce the same to a concise written form including the information required by
subdivision (c) of this section, denominate it conspicuously as a consumer transaction, and record
it in the docket marked as a consumer transaction, and by filing with the clerk a required
certificate verified as to its truthfulness by the claimant on forms prescribed by the state office of
court administration.

§3. The first unnumbered paragraph of subdivision (a) of section 1803-A of the uniform
district court act, as amended by chapter 90 of the laws of 1996, is amended to read as follows:

Commercial claims other than claims arising out of consumer transactions shall be
commenced upon the payment by the claimant of a filing fee of twenty dollars [and the cost of
mailings as herein provided] for claims in the amount of one thousand dollars or less and twenty-
five dollars for claims in the amount of more than one thousand dollars, without the service of a
summons and, except by special order of the court, without the service of any pleading other than
a required certification verified as to its truthfulness by the claimant on a form prescribed by the
state office of court administration and filed with the clerk, that no more than five such actions or
proceedings (including the instant action or proceeding) have been instituted during that calendar
month, and a statement of its cause of action by the claimant or someone in its behalf to the clerk,
who shall reduce the same to a concise, written form and record it in a filing system maintained

especially for such purpose. Such procedure shall provide that the commercial claims part of the
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court shall have no jurisdiction over, and shall dismiss, any case with respect to which the
required certification is not made upon the attempted institution of the action or proceeding.
Such procedure shall provide for the sending of notice of such claim by ordinary first class mail
and certified mail with return receipt requested to the party complained against at his or her
residence, if he or she resides within the municipality in which the court is located, and his or her

residence is known to the claimant, or at his or her office or place of regular employment within

such municipality if he or she does not reside within such municipality or his or her residence
within the municipality is not known to the claimant. If, after the expiration of twenty-one days,
such ordinary first class mailing has not been returned as undeliverable, the party complained
against shall be presumed to have received notice of such claim. Such notice shall include a
clear description of the procedure for filing a counterclaim, pursuant to subdivision (d) of this
section.

§4. The first unnumbered paragraph of subdivision (b) of section 1803-A of the uniform
district court act, as amended by chapter 90 of the laws of 1996, is amended to read as follows:

Commercial claims in actions arising out of consumer transactions shall be commenced
upon the payment by the claimant of a filing fee of twenty dollars [and the cost of mailings as
herein provided] for claims in the amount of one thousand dollars or less and twenty-five dollars
for claims in the amount of more than one thousand dollars, without the service of a summons
and, except by special order of the court, without the service of any pleading other than a
required statement of the cause of action by the claimant or someone on its behalf to the clerk,
who shall reduce the same to a concise written form including the information required by

subdivision (c) of this section, denominate it conspicuously as a consumer transaction, and record
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it in the docket marked as a consumer transaction, and by filing with the clerk a required
certificate verified as to its truthfulness by the claimant on forms prescribed by the state office of
court administration.
§5. The first unnumbered paragraph of subdivision (a) of section 1803-A of the uniform
city court act, as amended by chapter 90 of the laws of 1996, is amended to read as follows:
Commercial claims other than claims arising out of consumer transactions shall be

commenced upon the payment by the claimant of a filing fee of twenty dollars [and the cost of

mailings as herein provided] for claims in the amount of one thousand dollars or less and twenty-

five dollars for claims in the amount of more than one thousand dollars, without the service of a

summons and, except by special order of the court, without the service of any pleading other than
a required certification verified as to its truthfulness by the claimant on a form prescribed by the
state office of court administration and filed with the clerk, that no more than five such actions or
proceedings (including the instant action or proceeding) have been instituted during that calendar
month, and a statement of its cause of action by the claimant or someone in its behalf to the clerk,
who shall reduce the same to a concise, written form and record it in a docket kept especially for
such purpose. Such procedure shall provide that the commercial claims part of the court shall
have no jurisdiction over, and shall dismiss, any case with respect to which the required
certification is not made upon the attempted institution of the action or proceeding. Such
procedure shall provide for the sending of notice of such claim by ordinary first class mail and
certified mail with return receipt requested to the party complained against at his or her

residence, if he or she resides within the county in which the court is located, and his or her

residence is known to the claimant, or at his or her office or place of regular employment within
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such county if he or she does not reside therein or his or her residence within the county is not
known to the claimant. If, after the expiration of twenty-one days, such ordinary first class
mailing has not been returned as undeliverable, the party complained against shall be presumed
to have received notice of such claim. Such notice shall include a clear description of the
procedure for filing a counterclaim pursuant to subdivision (d) of this section.

§6. The first unnumbered paragraph of subdivision (b) of section 1803-A of the uniform
city court act, as amended by chapter 347 of the laws of 1995, is amended to read as follows:

Commercial claims in actions arising out of consumer transactions shall be commenced
upon the payment by the claimant of a filing fee of twenty dollars [and the cost of mailings as
herein provided] for claims in the amount of one thousand dollars or less and twenty-five dollars
for claims in the amount of more than one thousand dollars, without the service of a summons
and, except by special order of the court, without the service of any pleading other than a
required statement of the cause of action by the claimant or someone on its behalf to the clerk,
who shall reduce the same to a concise written form including the information required by
subdivision (c) of this section, denominate it conspicuously as a consumer transaction, and record
it in the docket marked as a consumer transaction, and by filing with the clerk a required
certificate verified as to its truthfulness by the claimant on forms prescribed by the state office of
court administration.

§7. This act shall take effect ten days after it shall have become a law and shall apply to

all actions commenced on or after such date.
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17. Warrants of Arrest Based on Simplified Informations
(CPL 120.20)

This measure would amend section 120.20 of the Criminal Procedure Law to preclude a
criminal court from issuing a warrant of arrest based on any simplified information.

Section 120.20 currently excludes only simplified traffic informations from the class of
accusatory instruments that can support issuance of an arrest warrant. As is noted by Professor
Peter Preiser in the Practice Commentaries to this section, see CPL 120.20 Practice
Commentaries (McKinney’s 2004), the failure to exclude the other simplified informations
(parks and environmental conservation) is most likely because they did not exist when the
Criminal Procedure Law first was enacted. Failure to add the other simplified informations when
they were created probably was an oversight. Nevertheless, these subsequently created
simplified informations, like simplified traffic informations, do not establish the threshold
reasonable cause necessary to justify issuance of a warrant of arrest and, therefore, should be
excluded as well.

Proposal
AN ACT to amend the criminal procedure law, in relation to issuance of a warrant of arrest when
a criminal action has been commenced in a local criminal court by the filing of a

simplified information

The People of the State of New York, represented in Senate and Assembly, do enact as

follows:

Section 1. The opening paragraph of subdivision 1 of section 120.20 of the criminal
procedure law, as amended by chapter 506 of the laws of 2000, is amended to read as follows:

When a criminal action has been commenced in a local criminal court by the filing
therewith of an accusatory instrument, other than a simplified [traffic] information, against a
defendant who has not been arraigned upon such accusatory instrument and has not come under
the control of the court with respect thereto:

§2. This act shall take effect on the first day of November next succeeding the date on

which it shall have become a law.
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18.  Grounds for Vacating Default Judgments Entered Pursuant to Vehicle
and Traffic Law Section 1806-a
(VTL § 1806-a)

This measure would amend section 1806-a of the Vehicle and Traffic Law to authorize
grounds for vacatur of a default judgment entered against a person charged with a traffic
infraction.

Section 1806-a authorizes a court outside New York City having jurisdiction over traffic
matters to enter a plea of guilty on behalf of a defendant charged with a traffic infraction and to
render a default judgment of a fine within an amount authorized by law after the defendant fails
to answer the charge within the time specified. The statute further provides that any such default
Judgment shall be civil in nature, but shall be treated as a conviction for purposes of the
proceeding under the Vehicle and Traffic Law.

The civil nature of a default judgment entered pursuant to section 1806-a in the context of
a criminal proceeding has caused confusion among courts and defendants who seek to vacate
such judgments. Some defendants move pursuant to CPLR 5015, while others move pursuant to
CPL 440.10. This amendment will dispel that confusion by providing a motion procedure
specifically applicable to default judgments entered pursuant to section 1806-a of the Vehicle and
Traffic Law.

The measure sets forth the two grounds that may be asserted to vacate the default:
excusable default and failure to provide proper notice. To ensure ultimate finality of the
proceeding, the measure further provides that a motion to vacate pursuant to this section must be
made within one year after the defendant obtains knowledge of entry of the judgment, but in no
event more than five years after such entry.

Proposal

AN ACT to amend the vehicle and traffic law, in relation to vacating a default judgment against
a person charged with a traffic infraction

The People of the State of New York, represented in Senate and Assembly. do enact as

follows:
Section 1. Section 1806-a of the vehicle and traffic law is amended by adding a new

subdivision 2-a to read as follows:

2-a. The court that entered a judgment pursuant to this section may, on motion by a
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defendant, vacate such judgment upon the ground of:
(a) excusable default, if the motion is made within one year after the

defendant obtains knowledge of entry of the judgment, but in no event more than five years after

such entry. provided, however, that no defendant shall be required to establish a meritorious

defense to prevail on a motion made pursuant to this paragraph; or

(b) failure by the traffic violations bureau or, if there be none, the clerk

of the court, to comply with the notice requirements set forth in subdivision one of this section.

§2. This act shall take effect immediately.
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19.  Grounds for Vacating a Default Judgment Against a Corporate Defendant for
Failure to Appear
(CPL 440.10)

This proposal would amend section 440.10 of the Criminal Procedure Law to authorize a
court to entertain an application to vacate a plea of guilty and sentence imposed when a corporate
defendant fails to appear. To ensure ultimate finality of the proceeding, a motion to vacate
pursuant to this section must be made within one year after the defendant obtains knowledge of
entry of the judgment, but in no event more than five years after such entry. None of the grounds
currently set forth in section 440.10 for vacating a judgment in a criminal case specifically
addresses a default judgment entered against a corporate defendant.

In almost all cases, when a criminal defendant fails to appear voluntarily to answer a
charge, the court must take steps, such as issuing a warrant of arrest, to secure the defendant’s
appearance. The court cannot proceed to enter a guilty plea and sentence the non-appearing
defendant. With respect to corporate defendants, however, section 600.20 of the CPL
specifically authorizes the court to enter a plea of guilty and impose sentence in the event such a
defendant fails to appear at the appointed time.

In some cases, a corporate defendant fails to appear simply because no notice of the
proceeding was received prior to the appearance date. This problem arises because section
600.10 of the CPL authorizes service of a summons or an appearance ticket on the Secretary of
State in addition to designated corporate officers. The Secretary of State then must promptly
forward such process to the corporation at the address on file in the Department of State for that
purpose. If the address on file for the corporation is not current, the corporation may not receive
the process in time to appear and defend the criminal action.

A defaulting corporate defendant that fails to appear can be subject to significant fines. In
one reported case, People v Sage Realty, Inc., 155 Misc 2d 832, 590 NYS 2d 660 (N.Y.C.
Criminal Ct. 1992), the corporate defendant failed to appear and was sentenced to pay a $10,000
fine.

Section 440.10 of the CPL does not specifically address a motion to vacate a default
judgment entered against a corporate defendant. In fact, both the prosecutor and the corporate
defendant in People v. Sage Realty, Inc., relied on the law governing the reopening of default
judgments in civil cases as controlling authority. While the court in that case found that the
motion as made properly was phrased to state a constitutional claim, a ground recognized by CPL
440.10, this proposal will make it clear that motions by corporate defendants to vacate defaults
under CPL 600.20 generally are cognizable by the court, will clarify the procedure to be followed
by corporate defendants in making such motions and will fix time constraints on when the
motion may be made.

The amendment also provides that no defendant making a motion to vacate a guilty plea
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and sentence is required to establish a meritorious defense to the criminal charge to prevail on the
motion. While such a requirement is imposed when defendants seek to vacate a default judgment
in civil cases for excusable default, it is not appropriate in a criminal proceeding, where the
burden of proof rests with the prosecution.

Proposal

AN ACT to amend the criminal procedure law, in relation to vacating a plea of guilty and
sentence imposed by the court upon failure to appear by a corporate defendant

The People of the State of New York, represented in Senate and Assembly, do enact as

follows:

Section 1. Paragraph (h) of subdivision 1 of section 440.10 of the criminal procedure law
is amended to read as follows:

(h) The judgment was obtained in violation of a right of the defendant under the
constitution of this state or of the United States|.] ; or

§2. Subdivision 1 of section 440.10 of the criminal procedure law is amended by adding
a new paragraph (i) to read as follows:

(i) The judgment was entered by the court pursuant to section 600.20 upon failure to
appear by a corporate defendant and such corporate defendant has established that such failure to
appear was excusable. A motion pursuant to this paragraph must be made within one year after
the corporate defendant obtains knowledge of entry of the judgment, but in no event more than

five years after such entry; provided, however, no such motion may be made once the corporate

defendant takes and perfects an appeal from the judgment. The corporate defendant shall not be

required to establish a meritorious defense to prevail pursuant to this paragraph.

§3. Paragraph (b) of subdivision 2 of section 440.10 of the criminal procedure law is
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amended to read as follows:
(b) The judgment is, at the time of the motion, appealable or pending on appeal, and
sufficient facts appear on the record with respect to the ground or issue raised upon the motion to

permit adequate review thereof upon such an appeal. This paragraph does not apply to a motion

pursuant to paragraph (i) of subdivision one ; or

§4. Paragraph (c) of subdivision 2 of section 440.10 of the criminal procedure law, as
added by chapter 996 of the laws of 1970, is amended to read as follows:

(c) Although sufficient facts appear on the record of the proceedings underlying the
judgment to have permitted, upon appeal from such judgment, adequate review of the ground or
issue raised upon the motion, no such appellate review or determination occurred owing to the
defendant’s unjustifiable failure to take or perfect an appeal during the prescribed period or to his
or her unjustifiable failure to raise such ground or issue upon an appeal actually perfected by him

or her. This paragraph does not apply to a motion pursuant to paragraph (i) of subdivision one;

or

§5. This act shall take effect immediately.
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20.  Imposition of Mandatory Surcharges and Crime Victim Assistance Fees
When a Defendant is Sentenced to Make Restitution or Reparation
(PL §60.35(6))

This measure would amend subdivision 6 of section 60.35 of the Penal Law to clarify its
provisions exempting defendants who have paid restitution or made reparations from having to
pay a mandatory surcharge and a crime victim assistance fee. As amended, subdivision 6 would
exempt outright only a defendant who pays restitution or makes reparation at or prior to
sentencing. Defendants who are sentenced to pay restitution or make reparation, but who do not
do so at sentencing, must pay a mandatory surcharge and a crime victim assistance fee; but they
will be entitled thereafter to a refund once the restitution is paid or the reparation is made.

For some years, there was disagreement among the Departments of the Appellate
Division with respect to whether a defendant who has not made restitution or reparation prior to
sentencing and who is ordered to do so as part of the sentence imposed for conviction of an
offense may at the same time be ordered to pay a mandatory surcharge and a crime victim
assistance fee. The First and Third Departments had held that courts are prohibited from
imposing a mandatory surcharge and a crime victim assistance fee when restitution or reparation
is directed. See People v. Espola, 238 AD2d 281 (1* Dept. 1997); People v. Allen, 236 AD2d
653 (3™ Dept. 1997); People v. Meade, 195 AD2d 756 (3™ Dept. 1993); People v. Moore, 176
AD2d 968 (3" Dept. 1991). The Second and Fourth Departments had held that both can be
imposed simultaneously. A defendant who thereafter pays restitution or makes reparation can
obtain a refund of the mandatory surcharge/crime victim assistance fee. People v. Cabrera, 243
AD2d 720 (2d Dept. 1997).

In a recent decision, the Court of Appeals resolved these disagreements and held that
section 65.35(6) of the Penal Law does permit a sentencing court to order both restitution and the
mandatory surcharge/crime victim assistance fee when the defendant has not paid restitution or
made reparation at the time of sentencing. See People v. Quinones, 95 NY2d 349 (2000).

This measure would clarify section 65.35(6) so that it is consistent with the Court of

Appeals’ decision.

Proposal

AN ACT to amend the penal law, in relation to mandatory surcharges and crime victim
assistance fees

The People of the State of New York, represented in Senate and Assembly, do enact as

follows:
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Section 1. Subdivision 6 of section 60.35 of the penal law, as amended by chapter 62 of
the laws of 1989, is amended to read as follows:

6. Notwithstanding any other provision of this section, where [a person]:

(a) as of a person’s sentencing, the court finds that he or she has made restitution or

reparation [pursuant to section 60.27 of this chapter], such person shall not be required to pay a
mandatory surcharge or a crime victim assistance fee; or

(b) following sentencing, a person makes restitution or reparation pursuant to section

60.27 of this article, such person may apply for resentence and, upon such application, the court

shall revoke so much of the person’s sentence as required payment of a mandatory surcharge

and/or a crime victim assistance fee.

§2. This act shall take effect immediately and shall apply to all defendants sentenced on

or after such effective date.
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21.  Expanding Equity Jurisdiction in Local Courts Outside of New York City
(UDCA §§ 203 and 209; UCCA §§ 203 and 209; and MDL §§ 306 and 309)

This measure would amend sections 203 and 209 of the Uniform District Court Act and
the Uniform City Court Act to provide District and City Courts, respectively, with additional
equity jurisdiction so as to enhance their ability to handle landlord and tenant disputes outside
New York City. It also would amend sections 306 and 309 of the Multiple Dwelling Law to add
references to the fact that District and City Courts now will have jurisdiction to remove or
remedy nuisances with respect to certain buildings.

Under the State Constitution, the New York City Civil Court may exercise such equity
power as is granted to it by the State Legislature. The State’s District Courts, too, may be
granted equity powers, but not to exceed those given the Civil Court; and the upstate City Courts
may be granted equity powers, but not to exceed those given the District Courts.’

At present, the Civil Court enjoys limited equity authority, one of the most important
components of which being the power of its Housing Part to enforce compliance with community
housing codes as an aspect of the Court’s landlord and tenant jurisdiction. While the District
Courts and the upstate City Courts also have general landlord and tenant jurisdiction, they do not,
however, enjoy comparable equity powers. This lack of authority renders them far less effective
as institutional means of preserving and protecting a community’s housing stock. Moreover, it
often requires parties to a landlord tenant dispute to go to several courts (i.e., lower court for
summary judgment determinations, Supreme Court for injunctive relief) to get complete relief.
This is inefficient and costly.

Accordingly, this measure would provide that the District Courts and the upstate City
Courts, whose civil jurisdiction already is very similar to that of the Civil Court, be granted the
same equity jurisdiction in housing matters that the latter now enjoys. In such fashion, the State
will take a major step toward promoting the quality of life in its larger upstate communities.

Proposal
AN ACT to amend the uniform district court act, the uniform city court act, the
multiple dwelling law and the multiple residence law, in relation to

granting limited equity jurisdiction

The People of the State of New York. represented in Senate and Assembly, do enact as

*District Courts have been established in Nassau and Suffolk Counties. City Courts have been established
in each of the State’s 61 cities outside New York City.
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follows:
Section 1. Section 203 of the uniform district court act, as amended by chapter 11 of the
laws of 1984, is amended to read as follows:

§203. [Mechanic’s lien.] Actions involving real property. (a) The court shall have

jurisdiction of [an action for the establishment of a mechanic’s lien on real property] the

following actions provided that the real property involved is located in whole or in part within a

district of the court in the county [, and]:

(1) An action for the establishment of a mechanic’s lien on real property to recover a
personal judgment for the amount due, where the lien asserted does not, at the time the action is
commenced, exceed $15,000.

2) An action brought to impose and collect a civil penalty for a violation of state or local

laws for the establishment and maintenance of housing standards, including, but not limited to,
the multiple dwelling law, the multiple residence law, and any applicable local housing
maintenance codes, building codes and health codes.

3) An action to recover costs, expenses and disbursements incurred by any political
subdivision of the state located in whole or in part within a district of the court in the elimination
or correction of a nuisance or other violation of any law described in paragraph (2) of this
subdivision, or in the removal or demolition of any building pursuant to such law or laws.

(4) An action or proceeding to establish, enforce or foreclose a lien upon real property
and the rents therefrom, for civil penalties or for costs, expenses and disbursements incurred by
any political subdivision of the state located in whole or in part within a district of the court in
the elimination of a nuisance or other violation of any law described in paragraph (2) of this
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subdivision, or in the removal or demolition of any building pursuant to such law or laws.

(5) Actions or proceedings for the removal of housing violations recorded pursuant to any
law described in paragraph (2) of this subdivision, or for the imposition of such violation or for
the stay of any penalty thereunder.

(6) An action or proceeding for the issuance of an injunction, restraining orders or other
orders for the enforcement of housing standards under any law described in paragraph (2) of this

subdivision.

(7) Special proceedings to vest title in any political subdivision of the state located in

whole or in part within a district of the court to abandoned multiple dwellings.

(8) Actions and proceedings under article seven-A of the real property actions and

proceedings law, and all summary proceedings to recover possession of residential premises to

remove tenants therefrom, and to render judgment for rent due, including without limitation
those cases in which a tenant alleges a defense under section seven hundred fifty-five of the real
property actions and proceedings law, relating to stay of proceedings or action for rent upon
failure to make repairs and section three hundred two-a of the multiple dwelling law, as
applicable, relating to the abatement of rent in case of certain violations of local housing codes.
(9) Proceedings for the appointment of a receiver of rents, issues and profits of buildings

in order to remove or remedy a nuisance or to make repairs required to be made under such laws.

The department of any political subdivision of the state located in whole or in part within
a district of the court charged with enforcing the multiple dwelling law, multiple residence law,
housing maintenance code, and other state and local laws applicable to the enforcement of proper

housing standards may commence any action or proceeding described in paragraphs two, three,
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four, five, six, and nine of this subdivision by an order to show cause, returnable within five
days, or within any other time in the discretion of the court. Upon the signing of such order, the
clerk of the district court shall issue an index number.

(b) On the application of any department of any political subdivision of the state located
in whole or in part within a district of the court, any party, or on its own motion, the district
court, shall, unless good cause is shown to the contrary, consolidate all actions and proceedings
pending in such part as to any building.

(c) Regardless of the relief originally sought by a party the court may recommend or
employ any remedy, program, procedure or sanction authorized by law for the enforcement of
housing standards, if it believes said remedy. program, procedure or sanction will be more
effective to accomplish compliance or to protect and promote the public interest: provided in the
event any such proposed remedy, program or procedure entails the expenditure of monies
appropriated by any political subdivision of the state located in whole or in part within a district
of the court, other than for the utilization and deployment of personnel and services incidental
thereto, the court shall give notice of such proposed remedy, program or procedure to the
department of such political subdivision that is charged with the enforcement of local laws
relating to housing maintenance and shall not employ such proposed remedy, program or
procedure, as the case may be, if such department shall advise the court in writing within the time
fixed by the court, which shall not be less than fifteen days after such notice has been given. of
the reasons such order should not be issued. which advice shall become part of the record. The

court may retain continuing jurisdiction of any action or proceeding relating to a building until all

violations of law have been removed.
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(d) In any of the actions or proceedings specified in subdivision (a) and on the application
of any party, a department of any political subdivision of the state located within a district of the
court or the district court, on its own motion, may join any other person or department of any
political subdivision of the state located within a district of the court as a party in order to

effectuate proper housing maintenance standards and to promote the public interest.

§2. Paragraphs 2-a and 3 of subdivision (b) and subdivision (c) of section 209 of the
uniform district court act, paragraph 3 as amended by chapter 919 of the laws of 1970, paragraph
2-a as added by chapter 514 of the laws of 1995, are amended to read as follows:

(2-a) the activity complained of has as its basis a violation of local law or ordinance
relating to land use, building regulation or fire prevention in which case, upon the motion of the
prosecuting attorney in accordance with article sixty-three of the civil practice law and rules, the
court may issue a preliminary injunction or a temporary restraining order restraining such
activity[.]; or

(3) pursuant to § 1508 of this act, in conjunction with an enforcement proceeding; or

4) pursuant to section three hundred six of the multiple dwelling law, as applicable, or

pursuant to the multiple residence law, as applicable, or pursuant to applicable provisions of local

housing maintenance codes. in conjunction with enforcement of housing standards.

(c) Receivers. No receiver shall be appointed by this court except pursuant to §1508 of

this act, relative to an enforcement proceeding, or in an action brought pursuant to subdivision

five of section three hundred nine of the multiple dwelling law, as applicable, relative to the
appointment of a receiver for the recovery of costs, expenses and disbursements incurred by any

political subdivision of the state in the elimination or correction of a nuisance or in the removal
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or demolition of a building pursuant thereto.

§3. Paragraph (a) of section 405 of the uniform district court act is amended to read as
follows:

(a) in an action involving real property [a mechanic’s lien action] as defined in §203 of
this act; or

§4. Section 203 of the uniform city court act is amended to read as follows:

§203. [Mechanic’s lien.] Actions involving real property. (a) The court shall have

jurisdiction of [an action for the establishment of a mechanic’s lien on real property] the

following actions provided that the real property involved is located in whole or in part within

the city[, and]:

(1) An action for the establishment of a mechanic’s lien on real property to recover a
personal judgment for the amount due, where the lien asserted does not, at the time the action is
commenced, exceed [the sum referred to in §202] $15.000.

2) An action brought to impose and collect a civil penalty for a violation of state or local

laws for the establishment and maintenance of housing standards, including, but not limited to,
the multiple dwelling law, the multiple residence law, and any applicable local housing
maintenance codes, building codes and health codes.

3) An action to recover costs, expenses and disbursements incurred by any political

subdivision of the state in the elimination or correction of a nuisance or other violation of any

law described in paragraph (2) of this subdivision. or in the removal or demolition of any

building pursuant to such law or laws.

(4) An action or proceeding to establish. enforce or foreclose a lien upon real property
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and the rents therefrom., for civil penalties or for costs, expenses and disbursements incurred by
any political subdivision of the state in the elimination of a nuisance or other violation of any law
described in paragraph (2) of this subdivision, or in the removal or demolition of any building

pursuant to such law or laws.

(5) Actions or proceedings for the removal of housing violations recorded pursuant to any
law described in paragraph (2) of this subdivision, or for the imposition of such violation or for
the stay of any penalty thereunder.

(6) An action or proceeding for the issuance of an injunction, restraining orders or other
orders for the enforcement of housing standards under any law described in paragraph (2) of this

subdivision.

7) Special proceedings to vest title in any political subdivision of the state to abandoned
multiple dwellings.

8) Actions and proceedings under article seven-A of the real property actions and
proceedings law, and all summary proceedings to recover possession of residential premises to
remove tenants therefrom, and to render judgment for rent due, including without limitation
those cases in which a tenant alleges a defense under section seven hundred fifty-five of the real
property actions and proceedings law, relating to stay of proceedings or action for rent upon
failure to make repairs and section three hundred two-a of the multiple dwelling law, as
applicable, relating to the abatement of rent in case of certain violations of local housing codes.

(9) Proceedings for the appointment of a receiver of rents, issues and profits of buildings

in order to remove or remedy a nuisance or to make repairs required to be made under such laws.

The department of any political subdivision of the state charged with enforcing the
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multiple dwelling law. multiple residence law. housing maintenance code, and other state and
local laws applicable to the enforcement of proper housing standards may commence any action

or proceeding described in paragraphs two, three, four, five, six, and nine of this subdivision by

an order to show cause, returnable within five days, or within any other time in the discretion of

the court. Upon the signing of such order, the clerk of the city court shall issue an index number.

b) On the application of a department of any political subdivision of the state, any part

or on its own motion, the city court, shall, unless good cause is shown to the contrary,

consolidate all actions and proceedings pending in such part as to any building.
(c) Regardless of the relief originally sought by a party the court may recommend or
employ any remedy, program, procedure or sanction authorized by law for the enforcement of

housing standards, if it believes said remedy, program, procedure or sanction will be more

effective to accomplish compliance or to protect and promote the public interest: provided in the

event any such proposed remedy. program or procedure entails the expenditure of monies

appropriated by any political subdivision of the state, other than for the utilization and
deployment of personnel and services incidental thereto, the court shall give notice of such
proposed remedy, program or procedure to the department of such political subdivision that is
charged with the enforcement of local laws relating to housing maintenance and shall not employ

such proposed remedy, program or procedure, as the case may be, if such department shall advise

the court in writing within the time fixed by the court, which shall not be less than fifteen days
after such notice has been given, of the reasons such order should not be issued. which advice

shall become part of the record. The court may retain continuing jurisdiction of any action or

proceeding relating to a building until all violations of law have been removed.
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(d) In any of the actions or proceedings specified in subdivision (a) and on the application
of any party, a department of any political subdivision of the state or the city court, on its own
motion, may join any other person or department of any political subdivision of the state as a
party in order to effectuate proper housing maintenance standards and to promote the public

interest.

§5. Paragraphs 2-a and 3 of subdivision (b) and subdivision (c) of section 209 of the
uniform city court act, as amended by chapter 919 of the laws of 1970, paragraph 2-a as added by
chapter 514 of the laws of 1995, are amended to read as follows:

(2-a) the activity complained of has as its basis a violation of local law or ordinance
relating to land use, building regulation or fire prevention in which case, upon the motion of the
prosecuting attorney in accordance with article sixty-three of the civil practice law and rules, the
court may issue a preliminary injunction or a temporary restraining order restraining such
activity[.]; or

(3) pursuant to §1508 of this act, in conjunction with an enforcement proceeding; or

4) pursuant to section three hundred six of the multiple dwelling law, as applicable, or

pursuant to the multiple residence law, as applicable, or pursuant to applicable provisions of local
housing maintenance codes, in conjunction with enforcement of housing standards.

(c) Receivers. No receiver shall be appointed by this court except pursuant to §1508 of

this act, relative to an enforcement proceeding, or in an action brought pursuant to subdivision
five of section three hundred nine of the multiple dwelling law, as applicable, relative to the

appointment of a receiver for the recovery of costs, expenses and disbursements incurred by any

political subdivision of the state in the elimination or correction of a nuisance or in the removal
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or demolition of a building pursuant thereto.

§6. Paragraph (a) of section 405 of the uniform city court act is amended to read as
follows:

(2) in an action involving real property [a mechanic’s lien action] as defined in §203 of
this act; or

§7. The opening unlettered paragraph of subdivision 2 of section 306 of the multiple
dwelling law, as amended by chapter 982 of the laws of 1972, is amended to read as follows:

In any such action or proceeding the department may, by affidavit setting forth the facts,
apply to the supreme court, or to any justice thereof, or, if the premises in respect to which the
action is brought are situated in the city of New York, to the New York city civil court, or, if the

premises in respect to which the action is brought are situated in whole or in part within a district

of the court, to the district court, or, if the premises in respect to which the action is brought are

situated in whole or in part within a city outside of the city of New York, to the city court of such

city, for:

§8. Paragraph a of subdivision 5 of section 309 of the multiple dwelling law is amended
to read as follows:

a. If the department shall desire that a receiver be appointed as hereinafter provided to
remove or remedy a nuisance described in paragraph e of subdivision one of this section and that
such receiver shall obtain a lien for costs incurred in connection therewith in favor of the
department of real estate, which shall have the priority with respect to existing mortgages or liens
provided in paragraph e of this subdivision, it shall within five days after the service of the order

upon the owner serve a copy of such order upon every mortgagee and lienor of record personally
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or by registered mail, return receipt requested, at the address set forth in the recorded mortgage or
lien. Appended to the copy of such order shall be a notice addressed to such mortgagee and
lienor stating that in the event the nuisance is not removed or remedied in the manner and within
the time specified in the order, the department may apply to the supreme court, or to the housing
part of the New York city civil court, if the premises are located in the city of New York, or, to

the district court, if the premises are located in whole or in part within a district of the court, or.,

to the city court of a city outside the city of New York, if the premises are located in whole or in

part within such city, for an order to show cause why a receiver of the rents, issues and profits of

the property shall not be appointed with rights therein superior to those of such owner, mortgagee
or lienor.

§9. Subdivision 3 of section 303 of the multiple residence law, as added by chapter 580
of the laws of 1951, is amended to read as follows:

3. The person or department charged with the duty of enforcing the provisions of this
chapter in a municipality or portion thereof shall have power to enter, examine, and inspect, or
cause to be examined and inspected, any building or property for the purpose of carrying out the
duties of such person or department under this chapter [and]._Such person or department is
authorized and empowered to issue departmental notices and orders and is authorized to institute

appropriate judicial action or proceeding to enforce any building code.

§10. This act shall take effect on the first day of January next succeeding the date on
which it shall become a law and shall apply to all actions and proceedings commenced on or after

such effective date.
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IV.  FUTURE MATTERS

The Committee will continue to review the various ideas and suggestions posed by
judges, nonjudicial employees, practitioners and members of the public concerning all issues
relating to the operations of the local courts across New York State.

The Committee may confer with the Chief Administrative Judge’s other Advisory
Committees when reviewing issues relating to the operations of the local courts.

Respectfully submitted,
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Hon. Duncan S. MacAffer — Co-Chair

Daniel Alessandrino

Jack Baer

Hon. Joseph J. Cassata, Jr.
Hon. Thomas R. Dias

Hon. Madeleine A. Fitzgibbon
Frank Jordan

Becky Letko

Hon. Raymond B. Mars
Vincent Modica

Hon. William J. O’Brien
Hon. Carrie A. O’Hare
Steven R. Pecheone

Hon. Howard H. Sherman

Pedro Morales, Counsel

106





