Communications Office:
David Bookstaver, Director
Kali Holloway, Deputy Director
(212) 428-2500

Date: May 5, 2009

Hon. Ann Pfau
Chief Administrative Judge

Seal of the Unified Court System

Hon. Rose H. Sconiers Named Chair of Franklin H. Williams Judicial Commission on Minorities

NEW YORK – Chief Judge Jonathan Lippman today designated Hon. Rose H. Sconiers as Chair of the Franklin H. Williams Judicial Commission on Minorities. Justice Sconiers succeeds Judge Lewis L. Douglass, who has announced he will step down after 17 years as Chair of the Commission. The appointment takes effect immediately.

Chief Judge Jonathan Lippman said, “I want to extend deep thanks to Judge Douglass for his unflagging dedication and commitment to this vitally important organization. In nearly two decades as Chair of the Commission, he has exemplified the highest standard of dedication to public service and been a tireless advocate of equal opportunity. His passionate pursuit of fairness, equity and justice has, unquestionably, led to significant strides toward the goal of making our courts bias-free. It has been a privilege to work with him, and I look forward to the Commission’s continued progress under the leadership of Judge Sconiers.”

Judge Sconiers was admitted to the New York State Bar in 1974 and to the United States Federal District Court in 1975; she is also admitted to practice before the United States Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit and the United States Supreme Court. A graduate of the State University of New York at Buffalo School of Law, Justice Sconiers has served in both the public and private sectors. She began her legal career at the Niagara County Legal Aid Society and later served as Executive Attorney of the Legal Aid Bureau of Buffalo; Assistant Corporation Counsel for the City of Buffalo; and Managing Partner of law firm Sconiers and Sconiers. Judge Sconiers was elected to the bench as a Buffalo City Court judge in 1988 and to the New York State Supreme Court in 1994. She is a former President of the Association of Justices of the Supreme Court of the State of New York, past Presiding member of the Judicial Council of the New York State Bar Association, a former member of the Commission on Fiduciary Appointments and was inducted into the Western New York Women's Hall of Fame in 2001.




Web page updated: March 12, 2009