New York Courts dot gov
New York StateUnified Court System


Mission Statement

The mission of the New York State Unified Court System is to promote the rule of law and serve the public by achieving just and timely resolution of all matters before the courts.



For administrative purposes, the sixty-two counties that make up the State of New York are divided into thirteen Judicial Districts and four Judicial Departments. (View Map)


Dept. District Counties
First 1st JD New York County
12th JD Bronx
Second 2nd JD Kings
9th JD Dutchess, Orange, Putnam, Rockland, Westchester
10th JD Nassau & Suffolk
11th JD Queens
13th JD Richmond (Staten Island)
Third 3rd JD Albany, Columbia, Greene, Rensselaer, Schoharie, Sullivan, Ulster
4th JD Clinton, Essex, Franklin, Fulton, Hamilton, Montgomery, St. Lawrence, Saratoga, Schenectady, Warren, Washington
6th JD Broome, Chemung, Chenango, Cortland, Delaware, Madison, Otsego, Schuyler, Tioga, Tompkins
Fourth 5th JD Herkimer, Jefferson, Lewis, Oneida, Onondaga, Oswego
7th JD Cayuga, Livingston, Monroe, Ontario, Seneca, Steuben, Wayne, Yates
8th JD Allegany, Cattaraugus, Chautauqua, Erie, Genesee, Niagara, Orleans, Wyoming
NY State Seal