New York Courts dot gov
New York StateUnified Court System

案件答辯


答辯 : 槪況
欠租案件答辯
逾期居留案件答辯
派送你的答辯書
要求陪審團
要求驗屋
反駁聆訊

答辯 : 槪況

若你已收到民事法院的訴狀書, 你必須按訴狀通知書上所載的限期內出庭和答辯。 若你已收到法院的明信片表示經已辦理文件登記, 要求法院將你自住所驅逐, 你亦必須作出答辯。 當你前來答辯時, 應攜同你所收到的法院文件或明信片。 書記將會要求閣下出示一些證明的。

如果閣下是個人的, 可用口頭或書面答辯。 任何被列名為答辯人的個體, 或任何佔用或聲稱佔用樓宇的人士都可遞交答辯。 你的答辯應包含任何的法律或公正的抗辯理由, 或是你可能有的解釋。 你也可以在回應訴狀書的同時提出反控告。 在前來作答辯時, 你應帶同收到的法院文件或法院寄來的明信片。

如果你沒有答辯而又沒有出庭時, 控告你的一方可能獲得一項佔有判決書及/或金錢判決書判閣下敗訴的。 提訴人可能可以將你驅逐, 並扣抵或從你的銀行帳戶中徵收你的工資。 若你收到一份執達吏警長的通知書時, 你也許可以取消你的缺席判決及/或停止驅逐行動。 閣下可參閱法律及程序資料以增加更多有關這方面和房屋法庭的程序。

案件的答辯和 欠租案件及逾期居留案件的答辯程序都不相同,謹列於下。

back to top


欠租案件的答辯

若閣下獲派送欠租案件的訴狀書, 必須於收到訴狀通知書後的五天內作出答辯。 要知道貴區在那裡作出答辯, 請點閱地點。在你作出答辯後,書記會為你訂定於三至八天內之審訊日期。閣下可用口頭或書面答辯。

欲以口頭答辯時, 閣下必須前來法院向櫃檯前的書記為你在一份房東/房客親身答辯的表格上根據你向他/她述說的抗辯理由標上符號。 該親身答辯表格載有一串可能或不適用於你的抗辯理由。 你應告知書記你是否正在服役, 或閣下乃倚靠正在服役人士。 該親自答辯表格內載有一系列有可能適用於閣下的抗辯原因。 書記完成填寫表格後, 你會收到一份副本。 在閣下離開前, 請檢查確定閣下的答辯已由書記作出正確記錄。 若然答辯並不正確, 請告訴書記。 在聆訊當日帶同此表格的副本及任部法院文件。

查看如何就訴狀通知書和訴狀書答辯資料 (CIV-LT-92).。 如欲知道更多有關列在親自答辯表格上的抗辯理由, 請點閱房屋摘要說明書。 如果閣下乃居住在穩定租金或NYCHA寓所者, 可使用互動式的欠租答辯計劃 (英語) 獲知更多的抗辯, 並幫助閣下就欠租案件作出親自答辯的準備。 閣下更可觀看有關欠租案件抗辯的社區講座。

你可以使用免費的民事法院表格或你自已的表格作書面答辯。 你可以前來書記處於櫃位向書記索取一份房東/房客書面答辯及證明表格。 你會獲發二份本表格的複寫本。 你也可以現在點閱書面答辯下載本表格。 閣下可下載書面答辯指示

書面答辯的手續較為繁複, 而且在未能正確地處理時, 你的答辯可能會被退回。 閣下必須要填寫該書面答辯表格, 並將表格送遞給另一方。 如果你並非於法院內填寫你的書面答辯, 手續會稍為不同。 請點閱送遞你的答辯書參考如何可正確地送遞答辯書的指示。 在聆訊當日, 帶同答辯書的副本及所有的法院文件前來法庭。back to top


逾期居留的答辯
 
若你被派送逾期居留的訴狀書, 通常你必須在聆訊日於審訊室內以口頭或書面答辯。 不過, 如果提訴人在返回法庭日的最少八天前將訴狀通知書派送給你, 該訴狀通知書可能會要求你於聆訊日前最少三天作出答辯的。 欲知貴區在那裡作出答辯, 請點閱位置

如果你前來法院在櫃位處向書記作口頭答辯, 書記會將你的答辯寫在法庭的檔案上。你應告知書記你是否正在服役, 或閣下乃倚靠正在服役人士 你亦可前來法院向書記索取房東/房客書面答辯及證明表格, 或者也可以呈交你自己的答辯書。 你現在也可以點閱書面答辯下載民事法院表格。 你可下載書面答辯指示書面答辯的手續較為繁複, 而且在未能正確地處理時, 你的答辯可能會被退回。

閣下必須填寫該書面答辯表格, 並將表格送遞給另一方。 如果你並非於法院內填寫你的書面答辯, 手續會稍為不同。 請繼續閱讀下述以得悉如何可正確地送遞答辯書。 在聆訊當日, 帶同答辯書的副本及所有的法院文件前來法庭。
back to top


送遞閣下的答辯書

閣下填妥答辯書後, 必須根據以下指示送遞給提訴人 :

1.  影印二張填妥的答辯書。
2.  由一名年滿十八歲但非本案其中一方的人士以普通郵遞將一份答辯書寄給提訴人的律師, 或在沒有律師時直接寄給提訴人。
3.  你也可以由一名年滿十八歲但非本案其中一方的人士親自將一份答辯書送給提訴人的律師, 或在沒有律師時直接送給提訴人。
4.  隨後你需要一份宣誓書宣誓該答辯書經已派送。 請點閱送遞宣誓書下載免費的民事法院表格。
5.  準備一份派送給提訴人的送遞翅誓書, 由派送答辯書的人在公證官面前簽署該送遞宣誓書。
6.  將正本的送遞宣誓書附於答辯書的正本上。
7.  在欠租案件中,  於收到訴狀通知書的五天內將答辯書和送遞宣誓書交回法庭。
8.  在逾期居留案件中, 如果訴狀通知書需要你在聆訊日前作出答辯時, 你必須在聆訊日最少三天前將答辯書和送遞宣誓書的正本交回法庭, 或者你可以在聆訊當日將答辯書帶到法庭。
9.  自己保留一份作為紀錄, 並於聆訊日前往法庭時帶同全部文件。back to top


要求陪審團

閣下亦可提出案件由陪審團進行審訊的要求。 當案件由陪審團而並非法官審訊時, 判決乃根據陪審團所作的裁決達成。

若要提出由陪審團作出審訊, 你便要在訴狀書答辯時提出由陪審團審訊的要求。 你可以告知書記, 並繳交陪審團之費用。 可點閱法庭費用查找費用的金額。 若負擔不起費用時, 你可能會享有被免卻費用的權利的。 請點閱低收入人士舒緩以便獲得更多訊息。

要記著日後法官可能會因你在租約內已放棄所述的權利而判定你不能享有由陪審團審訊的權利。

閣下也可於日後提出由陪審團審訊的要求。 不過, 若你等待太久, 法官有可能會拒絕你的要求的。 要得悉有關遲了提出陪審團審訊要求的更多資料, 請點閱提出陪審團審訊的時間性參考民事法院在此題目上的指引。

back to top


要求驗屋

如果你在單位或樓宇內存在維修方面的問題時, 你在第一次前來法庭時, 或在來法庭後的盡快時間內向書記或法官提出驗屋的要求。 房屋維護發展局的檢查員會前來你的住所作出報告交給法庭, 該報告會有助於證明需要作出修理的壞況。

如果閣下要求驗屋, 你會獲得一個驗屋日期和一個返回法庭的日期。 你會被要求列出需要修理的地方, 切記要包括了你的單位內的每一個房間, 與及在樓宇內的公用地方的每一項問題。 要觀看房客提出驗屋要求的副件, 請點閱要求驗屋。 倘若你在要求驗屋表格中漏報了一項或一處地方, 檢查員可能會拒絕查驗該處的。

在進行驗屋的當天, 必須有人留守家裡讓檢查員得以進入。 切記要向檢查員指出你所列出的每個問題。

back to top


反駁聆訊

如果你沒有收到過訴狀通知書和訴狀書, 或是你相信這些文件並未有正當地送遞給你時,  在你的案件中這構成了一項抗辯理由, 你應將之列入答辯內。 你可以點閱送遞訴狀通知書和訴狀書獲悉更多有關如何正當地派送法律文件。 如果你提出此項抗辯, 法官可能會訂定一個日期進行稱作反駁聆訊的聽證以決定法庭交件是否以正當手續派送。

在進行反駁聆訊時, 房東的送遞專員可能會由被召喚宣誓說出他或她是如何將法庭文件派送給你。 你是有權向該送遞專員發問問題, 自行作證, 與及召喚證人就文件並未經正當手續派送作出解釋。

若然法官認為文件的派送方法並非正確, 案件將會被有條件撤銷。 房東可交予一套新的文件對你重新提出起訴。 如果你收到另一套文件時, 你必須前來法庭再次答辯。

New York Courts dot gov
New York StateUnified Court System

New York City Civil Court - Housing Part


Answering a Case

Answering: In General
Answering A Nonpayment Petition
Answering A Holdover Petition
Serving Your Written Answer
Jury Demand
Inspection Request
Traverse Hearing

Answering: In General

If you have received a petition from the civil court, you must appear and answer within the time period provided for in the notice of petition. If you have received a postcard from the court indicating that papers have been filed asking the court to evict you from your residence, you must also answer. You should bring a copy of the court papers you received, or the postcard from the court, when you come to answer.

If you are an individual, you may answer either orally or in writing. Any individual named as respondent, or any person in possession or claiming possession of the premises, may submit an answer. Your answer should include any legal or equitable defense or explanation that you might have. You may also make a counterclaim in response to a petition at that time.

If you do not answer and appear, the party suing you may be able to enter a possessory judgment and/or a money judgment against you. The petitioner may be able to evict you, as well as garnish your wages or levy on your bank account. If you received a notice from a marshal or a sheriff you may be able to vacate your default and/or stop the eviction. You can learn more about this and other housing court procedures by reading our Legal and Procedural Information sections.

The time to answer the petition and the procedures for answering a nonpayment petition and a holdover petition differ and are set forth below. You should bring a copy of the court papers you received, or the postcard from the court, when you come to answer. The clerk will ask you to show some form of identification.

back to top


Answering a Nonpayment Petition

If you are served with a nonpayment petition you must answer within 5 days after you have received the notice of petition. To find out where to answer in your county, refer to Locations. The clerk will set a date for trial between 3 days and 8 days after you answer. You may answer orally or in writing.

To answer orally, you must come to Court and speak to a clerk at the counter who will check off a Landlord/Tenant Answer In Person form based upon what you tell him or her. You should tell the clerk if you are in the military or a dependent of someone in the military. The Answer in Person form contains a list of possible defenses that may or may not apply to you. After the clerk completes this form you will get a duplicate copy of it. Check to make sure that your answer was correctly recorded by the clerk before you leave the counter. If the answer is not correct, tell the clerk. Bring your copy of this form and all court papers to court on the hearing date.

View information on Answering a Notice of Petition And Petition (CIV-LT-92). To read more about the defenses listed on the Answer in Person form, go to the Housing Fact Sheets. If you live in a rent stabilized or NYCHA apartment, you can use the interactive Nonpayment Answer Program to learn about your defenses and help you prepare to answer a nonpayment petition in person. You can also watch a community seminar about Defenses to a Nonpayment Proceeding.

You may answer in writing by using a free Civil Court form, or your own form. You may come to the clerk’s office and request a Landlord/Tenant Answer In Writing And Verification form from the clerk at the counter. You will be given two duplicate copies of this form. You may also download the form now. You can download the Answer in Writing Instructions.

The procedure for a written answer is more complicated and if not done properly, your answer may be rejected. You must fill out the written answer form and then serve the form on the other side. If you do not prepare your written answer in court, the procedure is slightly different. Go to Serving Your Written Answer for instructions on how to serve the answer correctly. Bring your copy of the answer and all court papers to court on the hearing date.

back to top


Answering a Holdover Petition

If you are served with a holdover petition, generally you must answer orally or in writing in the courtroom on the date of the hearing. However, if the petitioner serves the notice of petition at least 8 days prior to the return date, the notice of petition may ask you to answer at least 3 days before the hearing date. To find out where to answer in your county, go to Locations.

If you answer orally by coming to the court and speaking to a clerk at the counter, the clerk will indorse your answer on the court file. You should tell the clerk if you are in the military or a dependent of someone in the military. You may also answer in writing by coming to court and asking the clerk for a Landlord/Tenant Answer In Writing And Verification form, or you may submit your own written answer. You may also download the Answer in Writing civil court form. You can download the Answer in Writing Instructions. The procedure for a written answer is more complicated and if not done properly, your answer may be rejected. You must fill out the written answer form and then serve the form on the other side. If you do not prepare your written answer in court, the procedure is slightly different. Continue reading below for instructions on how to serve the answer correctly. Bring your copy of the answer and all court papers to court on the hearing date.

back to top


Serving Your Written Answer

After you have completed a written answer, you must serve the petitioner by following the instructions below.

1. Make two copies of the completed written answer.
2. Have someone over the age of 18, who is not a party in this action, mail a copy of the written answer by regular mail to the attorney for the petitioner or to the petitioner directly only if there is no attorney.
3. You may also have someone over the age of 18, who is not a party in the action, personally deliver the written answer to the petitioner’s attorney, or the petitioner directly only if there is no attorney.
4. Next you need an affidavit swearing that the written answer was served. Download the free Affidavit of Service civil court form.
5. Prepare an Affidavit of Service for the service on the petitioner and have the person who served the written answer sign the Affidavit of Service in front of a notary.
6. Attach the original Affidavit of Service to the original written answer.
7. For Nonpayment cases, return the written answer and affidavit of service to the Court within five days of receiving the notice of petition.
8. For Holdover cases, if the notice of petition requires you to answer prior to the hearing date, you must return the original of the answer and affidavit of service in the court at least three days before the hearing date. Otherwise, you may bring the written answer to court on the hearing date.
9. Keep a copy for your records and bring all your papers with you when you come to court for the hearing date.

back to top


Jury Demand

You can also request that your case be tried before a jury. In a jury trial, the jury, not the judge, makes the decision and a judgment is entered based on the verdict reached by the jury.

If you wish to make a jury demand, you should request a jury trial when you answer the petition. You can tell the clerk and pay the jury demand fee. Go to Court Fees to learn the amount of the fee. If you cannot afford to pay the fee, you may be entitled to have the fee waived. Refer to Poor Person’s Relief to learn more.

Keep in mind that the Judge may later decide that you are not entitled to a jury trial because you gave up your right in your lease. Most leases include an agreement to give up a right to a jury trial.

You can also request a jury demand at a later time. However, the judge may deny your request, if you wait too long. For more information on filing a late jury demand, go to Timeliness of Jury Demands to read the Civil Court Directive on the subject.

back to top


Inspection Request

If you have a repair problem in your apartment or building, you should ask for an inspection from the clerk or the Judge the first time you are in court or as soon after that as possible. An inspector from the Department of Housing Preservation and Development will come to your home and make a report to the court. The report will help you prove that there are bad conditions that need repair.

If you request an inspection, you may get a date for the inspection and a date to return to court. You will be asked to make a list of the repairs needed. Make sure to include every problem in each room of your apartment and in the public areas of the building. To view a copy of the Tenant’s Request for Inspection, make an Inspection Request. If you fail to include a problem or area on the inspection request form, the inspector may refuse to look at it.

On the day of the inspection, it is important that someone be home to let the inspector in. Be sure to show the inspector all of the problems you listed.

back to top


Traverse Hearing

If you did not receive a copy of the notice of petition and petition, or you believe that the papers were not served properly, that is a defense to the case and should be included in your answer. Refer to Service of the Notice of Petition and Petition to learn more about the proper way to deliver legal papers. If you raise this defense, the judge may decide to set a date for a hearing, called a traverse hearing, to decide whether the service of the court papers was proper.

At the traverse hearing, the landlord’s process server may be asked to tell under oath how he or she served you with the court papers. You will have the right to ask the process server questions, to testify yourself, and to call witnesses to explain that the papers were not delivered properly.

If the judge finds that the service of the papers were not served properly, the case will be dismissed without prejudice. The landlord may start the case over again by giving you a new set of papers. If you receive another set of papers, you must come to court and answer them again.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Map of NY City Counties  Search Housing Court:
 
  •