New York Courts dot gov
New York StateUnified Court System

Extension of Time to Complete CLE Requirement


An application for an extension may be submitted to the CLE Board to seek additional time in which to complete your CLE requirement. Either mail, fax, or e-mail the completed application to the CLE office. (The address, fax number and e-mail address are provided on the application form.)

A request for an extension may be granted for a period of 90 days or less, absent compelling circumstances.

It will take approximately 30-45 days for your application to be processed. Attorneys should follow through with fulfilling any remaining CLE requirements while awaiting a response from the CLE office.

Please note that a portion of the biennial attorney registration form addresses mandatory continuing legal education and contains a certification for attorneys who have applied to the CLE Board for an extension of time. Once you have applied for an extension, you may sign this certification and submit your biennial attorney registration form. If you are granted an extension of time, you will have the opportunity to submit an “Attorney Registration Continuing Legal Education Update Form” to update your records after you have completed your requirement.

You should apply for an extension if you have not completed your required number of CLE credits, in the correct categories, within the applicable time period. Please note that CLE requirements for newly admitted attorneys differ from those for experienced attorneys.

Newly admitted attorneys are required to complete a minimum of 32 credits — at least 16 credit hours of accredited transitional continuing legal education in each of the first two years of admission to the Bar as follows: three (3) hours of ethics and professionalism; six (6) hours of skills; and seven (7) hours of law practice management and/or areas of professional practice.

Experienced attorneys must complete a minimum of 24 credit hours of accredited continuing legal education each biennial reporting cycle, at least four (4) credit hours of which must be in ethics and professionalism.


March 2010

Get Adobe Acrobat Reader